Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Right now I am building a pc so that I can put linux on it and give it to my dad so he can do some pretty normal stuff such ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5

    Building my first computer (for linux) and need some help.


    Right now I am building a pc so that I can put linux on it and give it to my dad so he can do some pretty normal stuff such as surf the internet, type, possibly play Wolfenstein enemy territoy every once in awhile. I'm having a little bit of trouble and want to know if anyone can help me.

    I have an amd Sempron processor

    Foxconn 755A01-6EKRS Socket 754 SiS 755 ATX AMD Motherboard

    SAPPHIRE RADEON 9600 128M Radeon 9600 128MB 128-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card

    Hard drive with no OS as of yet

    Dvd rom drive

    756mb ram

    The two problems that I face at the moment is that nothing appears on my monitor when I turn on the computer and the second problem is that when I have my ide cable hooked up from my motherboard to either my DVD rom drive and/or hard drive they don't power on. Can anyone help me out on this one?

  2. #2
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    Power Supply?

    These two things together sound like a power supply problem. Does the MB have any leds so you can tell when it's powered? Does the power supply fan spin? What does happen when you turn it on?

    Have fun -
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5

    Re: Power Supply?

    Quote Originally Posted by twoHats
    These two things together sound like a power supply problem. Does the MB have any leds so you can tell when it's powered? Does the power supply fan spin? What does happen when you turn it on?

    Have fun -

    When I turn on the computer The processor fan goes on. The led lights that are apart of the case that tell the computer is on go on. Also both drives go on unless they're connected to the motherboard. Other then that there are no other signs that I can see that would help me figure that out. I do have an extra power supplle that I could just hook up and try.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Still same problem with my other power supply.

    So I guess it's something else.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    24

    Re: Power Supply?

    Quote Originally Posted by tonicardo
    Also both drives go on unless they're connected to the motherboard.
    That almost sounds like you have a DOA motherboard to me.

    You don't have a system around that you can plug some of the internals into, do you? I'm thinking like the graphics card, RAM, anything else that might be compatible. I really doubt these are the problems, but we might as well eliminate them as possibilities.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    106

    Computer building

    For the moment disconnect all your disk drives. You don't need them.
    Remove all cards except the video card.
    Make sure everything that should be connected to the motherboard e.g the
    reset switch etc. is connected properly. Switch on, the computer should
    attempt to boot and you should get a beep or beeps through the case
    speaker and the bios sign on message should appear on the screen. If none
    of this happens then you have made some wrong connections or the video
    card is not properly installed in its slot or the memory chips are not properly
    installed or there are some jumpers on the motherboard that are not set
    correctly or the motherboard is not properly insulated from the case.
    Check that the CMOS ram jumper is set correctly. Read the manual very
    carefully and slowly. Its possible that you have a defective motherboard
    but its also likely that you have overlooked something important especially
    if you haven't had much experience in building PCs before.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •