Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am relatively new to linux and have played with Debain, Red Hat, Fedora and most recently SuSe 10. Usually, I install one of these platforms on an old PIII ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Building a New 64-Bit Desktop for Linux...

I am relatively new to linux and have played with Debain, Red Hat, Fedora and most recently SuSe 10. Usually, I install one of these platforms on an old PIII with 1.5GB of memory.

However, I always wind up running back to my Windows machine which is running a 3.2HT P4 (32bit) with 2048GB of RAM and SATA RAID0 - Which of course runs circles around the old PIII.

I really want to give Linux a true chance and am considering building a newer machine just for Linux (hopefully 64-Bit). However, I have been having trouble finding info on a newer board that is supported (or known to work with out to much trouble) under Linux.

I have checked SuSe Compatabilty site, multiple Linux Hardware sites, ASUS, ABIT, ECS, SuperMicro, Intel - and have been only able to find newer boards which are server class (Xeon, etc). Most of the sites refer to older desktop boards which have been retired and are no longer for sale.

So, what I am looking for is a newer board (does not have to be the very latest) - but at a minimum of 2.8Ghz or up with 64 Bit Support and SATA. I have a preference for Intel - but at this point would consider AMD.

Any sugestions would be greatly appreciated.

Linux User
    I'm not sure to fully understand ur request. But some distros: mandriva suse and debian afaik got a hardware base. That is to say: u enter the name of a piece and the base told u if it is supported or not.
    And now linux is fully 64bits compliant

My system (specs in signature) works quite well in 32-bit and 64-bit Linux. One thing you'll want to watch is RAID though. I don't know of anyone who's successfully set up RAID in Linux.