Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I installed RHEL4 on my system. I have an IBM monitor. 'system-config-display' says the reolution is set to 800x600, but the actual resolution that i get seems much less.. i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15

    IBM monitor resolution problem :(


    I installed RHEL4 on my system. I have an IBM monitor. 'system-config-display' says the reolution is set to 800x600, but the actual resolution that i get seems much less..
    i increased the resolution to 1024x768, but it still remains same (Though no errors are reported).

    here is the xorg.conf file of my computer..
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModeName "IBM 6332 E74"
    DisplaySize 320 240
    HorizSync 30.0-70.0
    VertRefresh 50.0-120.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "VideoCard0"
    Driver "i810"
    VendorName "VideoCard Vendor"
    BoardName "Intel 845"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "VideoCard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    how do i resolve the issue?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15
    i had tried 1024x768 with 'thousands of colours'
    Now i tried with 256 colours + 1024x768 and it worked. I guess the problem is with the display driver. google did not provide me with results regarding a Linux driver for i845 mobo. What can be the possible solution?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You could try the vesa driver unless you are interested in 3d acceleration.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    I have the same problem;

    hi
    i have the same problem as u mentioned, did u find any solution for it.
    If so please help me in that . Thank u



    Quote Originally Posted by Punter
    I installed RHEL4 on my system. I have an IBM monitor. 'system-config-display' says the reolution is set to 800x600, but the actual resolution that i get seems much less..
    i increased the resolution to 1024x768, but it still remains same (Though no errors are reported).

    here is the xorg.conf file of my computer..


    how do i resolve the issue?

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi sonu jivanagi,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    which graphics card do you have? did you try changing driver to "vesa"?
    in GRUB screen, select Fedora title and press 'e'. select 'kernel' line, press 'e' again and add <space> 3 at the end of line. press 'Enter' key and press 'b' to boot up. this will drop you on command line login prompt. log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    configure display and resolutions. in case your Monitor is not listed in Monitors List, select 'Generic' Monitor. execute startx.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    hi casper

    I actually have installed Red hat 9 on a p4 system with i845 mobo and ibm 6332 e74 monitor.
    I have no idea as to which driver are currently installed.
    Can i still go ahead and, execute the steps mentioned by u.
    One more thing, i have dual os installed on the same machine , the other being winxp. There i find no such problems.
    Can u please help me with this.I tried serching for the drivers on the net, bu t could'nt find any appropriate.

    thank u

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    execute 'system-config-display' command as i suggested earlier.
    in case it doesn't work, execute this
    Code:
    less /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    post Monitor, Video Driver and Screen sections here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Problem Solved

    hi Casper

    I figured out the problem, the frame buffer in bios wat set to 1mb.
    I changed it to 8mb and installed fc5, everthig seems to be working fine.
    Except for the man pages not working, whenver i try to access them, i get "man : Command not found "
    I guess its something to do with MANPATH.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •