Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok, so I finally got Linux installed (Suse 10.0) after talking about doing it for about a year, I like the general feel of it (and am sick of arguing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Modems and installs and such things

Ok, so I finally got Linux installed (Suse 10.0) after talking about doing it for about a year, I like the general feel of it (and am sick of arguing with MS BS) but am a complete newbee/idiot when it comes to doing anything.

So getting to the point (at last!), I have a dial-up modem installed which has been recognised by the system, I have a driver for it on CD, and I have no idea what to do to get it all working.

Essentially what I'd like to know is;
    1. How do I install the the driver to get the modem working?
    2. How do i then enter the necessary ISP info and dial up to the net?

I know these are the most basic of questions, but I've only been running Linux for about 17hours and really am an absolute newbee at it all. So if anyone can help me out, or give a link to a good how to article it'd be most appreciated.

Then once I have some idea what I'm doing I can get my printer working!

your mode, a dial-up analog modem (upto 56k speed)? Internal (ie. a PCI card) or external? If external, USB or serial connect?

Right, that's enough questioning from me.

If you need a driver, that probably means its internal. The driver you have (on the CDROM), is it a Linux or a Windows driver? They're drifferent. If it's a Linux driver, does it come as a package (such as a .rpm or .apt file)?

Sorry, I lied about the questioning.

As to setting up ISPs. If you use KDE, then use the kppp dialer. If you use Gnome, use the network connection wizard.

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS