Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I know that perfect peripheral support can't be expected out of Linux ... but I am hoping I can find some help. I am a bit of a newbie ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Kodak Z740 digital camera problems in SUSE 10.0

Hello,

I know that perfect peripheral support can't be expected out of Linux ... but I am hoping I can find some help. I am a bit of a newbie but willing to learn new things to get my camera to work...

I am using SUSE 10.0 (with KDE 3.5), and my camera is a Kodak Z740. I tried to use the program digikam to access the pictures on my camera, but my kind of camera was not supported. Also, if I tried to access it as a USB Mass Storage Device, then simply ... nothing happened. :/

Also, SUSE automounts it. If I use Konqueror and go to "media:/" then I can see all of my storage devices, and when the camera is on it is listed among them. So, I can tell that SUSE has recognised the camera is there. However, if I click on the camera, then it takes a very long time to load and, when it finally does load, all that is shown is a folder that says "USB PTP class Camera." If I click on this folder, I'm taken to ... a window that once again shows "USB PTP class Camera." It basically does that for infinity, and I can never see my pictures. (I know they are there, because if I turn the camera on when it is not plugged in I can still browse through them.)

So, I am wondering if anyone knows why this is. (Maybe it is a bit of a newbie question ...) Or, if there's a driver or something available so that I can use my camera??

Thank you very much for any help you can offer ... I'm a very confused newbie right now. It's fun to learn, but I don't know where to start with this problem. (Sorry if this message is too long, or if I have not provided all the information that I should!)

Just Joined!