Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi all! Any insight you can offer massively gratefully received - I am losing my sanity! I am running linux on a dell dimension 3000 that came with 512MB of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Memory upgrade driving me mad!


    Hi all!
    Any insight you can offer massively gratefully received - I am losing my sanity!

    I am running linux on a dell dimension 3000 that came with 512MB of RAM, installed in 2 x 256MB slots. On dell's website it says that the memory is upgradable to 2 x 512 slots, but on a reputable memory supplier website it says (and also according to my sysadmin friend at work) that it's OK to put in two 1GB - the only reason dell doesn't say you can do this is that the 1GB cards weren't around when they wrote the docs..

    But since I put the memory in, everything seems to work fine for about 2 hours. Then the keyboard mysteriously locks up and tomcat crashes. Does this sound like the kind of thing installing new memory could cause? Is there a parameter I need to tweak in Red Hat somewhere? I've put the old 2x256 memory back in and it's fine again (but slow!). I don't want to give up on 2GB of memory on this machine - does anyone know if there's something simple I can do to fix it, or at least to see the errors? (I looked in /var/log/messages, catalina.out etc - no trace of an error, everything just stops working..)

    Thank you so much if you can offer some guidance!
    Bruce

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    hmm,
    try compiling high-memory support into your kernel and see if that helps.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Maybe the ram has some problems with it, it could stuff your whole computer, try running memtest86

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for your help!
    I've been reading around trying to understand enabling highmem and all the posts I've read on it confuse the hell out of me! Seems like the system should work with 2GB anyway, it's just that to get better performance, highmem may help?
    Please forgive my ignorance - this is what I'm seeing in the startup log from the kernel:
    It's definitely seeing the memory here and the memory is available when I do a top. Does that mean it should be able to use it, or should I still be looking at enabling high mem? Thanks!

    BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
    BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 00000000000a0000 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000007fe70000 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 000000007fe70000 - 000000007fe72000 (ACPI NVS)
    BIOS-e820: 000000007fe72000 - 000000007fe93000 (ACPI data)
    BIOS-e820: 000000007fe93000 - 000000007ff00000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fec00000 - 00000000fec10000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fecf0000 - 00000000fecf1000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fed20000 - 00000000fed90000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000fee00000 - 00000000fee10000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000ffb00000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
    0MB HIGHMEM available.
    2046MB LOWMEM available.
    ACPI: S3 and PAE do not like each other for now, S3 disabled.
    found SMP MP-table at 000fe710
    On node 0 totalpages: 523888
    DMA zone: 4096 pages, LIFO batch:1
    Normal zone: 519792 pages, LIFO batch:16
    HighMem zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:1

  6. #5
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    look at the output from top and see how much memory it reports as you have. if it is not 2GB then take a look at enabling highmem in the kernel.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •