Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Yep sure, I'll get the X86Config file tonight. Yes I did install it as root - basically followed the doco's to the letter...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37

    Yep sure, I'll get the X86Config file tonight.
    Yes I did install it as root - basically followed the doco's to the letter

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Ok, here's the sections of my XF86Config file:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX"
    EndSection

    and:

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "fbdevhw"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection
    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    How does this look?

    I've just looked at my GeForce2 here at work (under my linux boot) and glxgears is getting 700.1 fps!

    This is the config file here: (I suspect I'm missing parameters at home...)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
    VideoRam 65536

    and:

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "fbdevhw"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection

    -------------------------------------------------------

    I've just noticed that the Video Ram section is missing, could this be this issue?

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Add it and try it!
    Post back though.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    will do!

    I'll try get back to you tomorrow cos I have to work (tomorrow is saturday here...)

    Thanks for your help in this too.....

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    For what it's worth this is all my XF86 Config file has about it

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "VESA Framebuffer"
    Driver "nvidia"
    #VideoRam 65536
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection

    Slackware 9.1
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Dyfant, what version of the nvidia driver did you install?

    I've seen loads of posts about probs with 5328 that are resolved by going back to the 4496 version.

    Might be worth trying?

    Go to text level and uninstall

    # init 3
    # nvidia-installer --uninstall

    Then install the 4496 ones

    Also make sure Load "dri" is removed or commented out.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Ok, I tried making the changes to include the 64MB memory and this did not help at all.

    I am looking at re-doing my RH9 install after seeing the /var/log/messages - there appears to be ALOT of issues going on, particularly nvidia....ALOT. Some stuff about the kernel not being able to load stuff to do with nvidia.
    I'll start from scratch and see how it goes - theoretically it should be fine - my work linux install works like a dream!

    Let you know how I get on cos I won't be here for a couple of days....


    Thanks,

    Chris B

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •