Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Me again....but I need help (yep, still!) I have installed NVidia's drivers for the GeForce2 MX graphics card and it will now run OpenGL apps (eg. America's Army Game, Return ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37

    GeForce 2 Graphics Card


    Me again....but I need help (yep, still!)

    I have installed NVidia's drivers for the GeForce2 MX graphics card and it will now run OpenGL apps (eg. America's Army Game, Return To Wolfenstein etc) but I noticed with the latter it runs VERY VERY slowly just with the opening graphics.
    It takes me about 4 mins to get my cursor over the "quit" button because it's just so frustratingly slow!

    Is there anything I can change/edit?
    I read through NVidia's documentation - it may as well have been written in greek. I'm a Noob and I just want to be able to run things correctly!

    I have RH9
    AMD 1200+ Processor
    256MB Ram
    GeForce2 MX video card (64MB)

    This is my only operating system at home, so I'm kinda keen to get it working correctly.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Dyfant, have you installed the drivers?

    Or run through what you have done.

    They're quite easy to install on your system (once you know how) so post back and I'm sure we can walk you through it.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Hi Chris,

    (Ironically my name's Chris too.....)

    Here's what I did....

    I downloaded the NVidia drivers and installed them - this installed correctly.

    Then I changed the X86Config file for the driver to read "nvidia" instead of "nv" - and as per the documentation I get the NVidia splash screen at startup (they said this would happen if the drivers were correctly installed.

    If I set the "molecules" screensaver which uses OpenGL, it seems to work (OpenGL that is) but when I try and run something like my games (Return To Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory) just the opening theatre is heinously slow. To give an idea, I have to move the mouse and wait until the system updates it to the new location before trying to move again, until I can hit the "Quit" button!

    I hope this is more helpful!

    Thanks

    Chris B

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Hiya Chris

    open up a terminal window and type 'glxgears' and see what fps you're getting.

    I would expect around 600 fps

    Also, have you removed any of the lines as per nvidia's instructions?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    While I'm here if I remember correctly when I had RH the opening credits/menu for ET was very slow. A case of move-wait-move-wait. Each move would take about a second to catch-up. Gameplay itself was ok though.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Ok - I did the glxgear thing last night. Here are the results, I must warn though, comparing next to your 600fps this might shock:

    5.400 frames per second. (Ya, that's a . (point))

    I don't know what to do. I have also removed the lines in the X86Config that NVidia mention too.


    Any Ideas? Thanks for your patience in me getting back about this....

    Chris B.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    try to add

    Load "glx"
    Load "openGL"

    at the top of your xfree config. I remeber seeing that in a nvidia tutorial, but can't remeber where though... But its worth a shot

    Good luck

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Hi Kriss,


    I remember seeing in the NVidia documentation that the "OpenGL" and "dri" lines had to be removed and "glx" added which is currently how I have it setup.

    Do you think I should add "OpenGL" again?

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    No, if nvidia says no, don't do it

    One thing, have you chose the correct amount of video ram when you configured the xfree server?

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Chris, did you install as root from runlevel 3, ie text only?

    Also can you post the relevant bit of the XFree86 config file?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •