Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm relativly green to linux, not a complete newbie but not a scripter yet. OK so the external USB harddrive was formated to NTFS as it was connected to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

USB Harddrive Bungle

Hi, I'm relativly green to linux, not a complete newbie but not a scripter yet.

OK so the external USB harddrive was formated to NTFS as it was connected to a laptop that uses windows xp.

I couldn't write and after attempting to find a linux software solution to write to NTFS I decided I might as well just transfer the files to another USB harddrive and fresh format the drive to FAT32.

So luckily I finish transfering the files, but it isn't as easy as just using windows disk manager to delete the NTFS partition and format a new one for FAT32 life can't be that simple for me.

The disk manager wouldn't work or read the drive due to an RPC issue.

OK so I think to myself, i'll just download a program like parition magic and do it manually. OK. So I do that.. but the partition program gives me all these errors. But I manage to delete the partition. Oh, but now it is reading as raw Ok so now I just need to format it to fat32.
    So I download fat32formater as regular attempts to do anything with the RAW were not working on the USB drive.

OK I think I did it.. but this is weird what are all those weird symbols in the lable.. it says fat32.. but what is this... floppy? it was formated as a floppy drive fat32 not a diskdrive fat32..

what now for some reason it isn't reading in windows xp at all.. the usb drive reads just not the harddrive..

So I hook it up to the linux box hoping for releif... well the issue with my linux box right now is that it ran out of harddrive space.

I go into the removable device icon and I get the following message
    Insert media or use CD Player for audio CD's