Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Right I am new to this forum as I am new to Linux. Although I am quite old on PC. Been working on Windows since it got out and now ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Angry Hardware and SuSe 10.0

Right I am new to this forum as I am new to Linux. Although I am quite old on PC. Been working on Windows since it got out and now it pis*ed me off for the last time. So I installed the SuSe 10.0 but here comes a bunch of problems. Since I'm new (only tested Mandrake 6.0) I'm not used to the Linux way of loading drivers. The problems are as follows:
    1. Netgear WG311v3 with WEP
    2. Asus P4C800 with integrated sound card (Legacy)
    3. Gigabyte GeForce FX5700 - problems with 3D graphics

So I ask you all nicely to help me with my problems. I like SuSe very much so I don't won't to start hating it because of this.

Thank you

And sorry for the double thread mods I'm new and I didn't know this section exists until now. Sorry

For the netgear wireless card, you might want to look into the netgear website to see if they have any linux drivers first, failing that, you will want to look into ndiswrapper. Basically that allows you to load the windows driver on the linux machine allowing it to work.

I'm surprised the sound card hasn't been picked up and installed by SuSE to be honest with you... try taking a look in YaST at the sound configuration and check it's not muted or something.

for the GeForce, goto www.nvidia.com and download the linux driver from there, also they have simple to follow instructions on the site as for installing the drivers (Note: Install the kernel-source package from yast before trying this, you will need it )
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327