Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello guys, I am waiting for a couple of SATA RAID controllers in order to setup a few servers and was wondering if it is possible to install first the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    43

    install first the OS and then add a hardware RAID controller?


    Hello guys,

    I am waiting for a couple of SATA RAID controllers in order to setup a few servers and was wondering if it is possible to install first the OS on a single SATA drive and then add one more including the first one to the SATA RAID and build the array.

    Is there a chance to do that while I will be waiting the controllers to be shipped?

    OS will be CentOS.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    As long ass installing the raid controller doesn't change the device names (eg /dev/sda1 etc) then i (personally) cannot see why this would not work. Simply adding new devices works fine, but i know you wont be simply adding new devices. I believe raid devices show in a slightly different location to the standard SATA drives. (Someone feel free to prove me wrong)

    Personally i would rather wait until i have all the kit (it's only going to be a few days surely?) And then install after that.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Im not 100% sure with this one. As the distro on sda1 will need to know about the array, so it will boot differently.
    I would wait..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    43
    Thanks for the replies guys.
    I had a lot of problems with shipping and I am waiting these controllers for over 15 days so far. I need to setup these machines asap.

    I will install the OS and then make an image of them. Then as soon as I will add the raid controller I will restore the OS via the image software (ghost).
    Hopefully it will work fine

    Cheers

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Good luck, sorry to hear bout the shipping etc!
    I would maybe google for ghost and linux, just to check nothing blows up

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    asmar also, I liek th elink in your sig, I love rock climbing!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •