Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Help. Xandros 3.0 Deluxe detected my Nvidia Card with no problems, I didn't have to do anything. However, I have two monitors running on the same card, and my second ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! WebThingy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bellingham, WA
    Posts
    69

    How Do I Enable Dual Monitors ???


    Help.

    Xandros 3.0 Deluxe detected my Nvidia Card with no problems, I didn't have to do anything.

    However, I have two monitors running on the same card, and my second monitor doesn't display anything except for when the computer boots up and shows system info same as the first monitor.

    The second monitor is running from the DVI out of my card and uses a DVI to VGA adapater. It worked fine on Windows, but on Windows I had the software installed that came with the card.

    My card is a Inno3d Tornado Nvidia GeForce FX 5600 256MB video/graphics card.

    When I go into the Display Properties it only shows one monitor.

    Also, it only lets me go as high as 24 bit color, but on Windows I had 32 bit color.


    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep vendor
    And of
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep direct
    And finally
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep nv
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined! WebThingy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bellingham, WA
    Posts
    69
    Ok, I did that, am I suppossed to do anything else? Still can't do anything with the second monitor.

    First command result:

    server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation

    Second command result:

    direct rendering: Yes

    Third command result:

    ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by WebThingy
    Ok, I did that, am I suppossed to do anything else? Still can't do anything with the second monitor.
    What do you mean you did that?

    Can you post the output of those 3 commands?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok cool, the drivers are there of fully working. You can make dual monitors work with the "TwinView" fonction.

    First make a backup of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:
    Code:
    cd /etc/X11/
    su
    cp xorg.conf xorg.conf.bak
    And then there is some precise how-to:
    http://wiki.kororaa.org/index.php?ti...L_and_Twinview
    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dual_Monitors#TwinView
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #6
    Just Joined! WebThingy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bellingham, WA
    Posts
    69
    I should mention I installed Xandros Linux Deluxe 3.0 yesterday, and thisis my first time using Linux, I went to those tutorials you gave links for and the first talks about an XGL 0.2 Live CD and I have no clue what that is.

    The second tutorial tells me to edit a file that says this at the top:

    ################################################## ##############################
    ## Automatically generated file by buildxconf
    ## part of the Xandros hardware detection system
    ##
    ## See Also:
    ## 'man devices-overview' for information about the detection system
    ## 'man setxconf' a utility for interacting with the detection system
    ## to modify the X configuration
    ## 'man xorg.conf' for the format of this file
    ##
    ## Warning:
    ## If this file is edited manually, then buildxconf will no longer
    ## modify this file. It must be removed to be regenerated.
    ################################################## ##############################

    So should I edit it manually???

    I am so lost.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by WebThingy
    So should I edit it manually???

    I am so lost.
    Well, you can post your actual /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. But post it in a format
    Code:
    like that
    Plus post your exact 2 monitors models.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #8
    Just Joined! WebThingy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bellingham, WA
    Posts
    69
    I'm using these monitors:

    Kogi 14 inch LCD flatscreen - Model: L4AX

    IC Power 15 inch LCD flatscreen - Model: CM2015


    Code:
    ################################################################################
    ##  Automatically generated file by buildxconf
    ##  part of the Xandros hardware detection system
    ##
    ## See Also:
    ##      'man devices-overview' for information about the detection system
    ##      'man setxconf' a utility for interacting with the detection system
    ##          to modify the X configuration
    ##      'man xorg.conf' for the format of this file
    ##
    ## Warning:
    ##      If this file is edited manually, then buildxconf will no longer
    ##      modify this file.  It must be removed to be regenerated.
    ################################################################################
    
    
    Section "Files"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/nvidia"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/altdrivers"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    
        # Local Fontserver: Disabled by default.
        #FontPath    "unix/:7100"
    
        # Unscaled Bitmap Fonts:
        # Scalable TrueType and CID Fonts (via DeFoMa):
    
        # Scalable TrueType Fonts (via std X path):
    
        # Scalable Speedo and Type1 Fonts:
    
        # Scaled Bitmap fonts (ugly) :
    
        # Misc. Fonts:
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
        FontPath     "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/local/share/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/commercial"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load    "ddc"
        Load    "int10"
        Load    "xandetect"
        Load    "dbe"
        Load    "extmod"
        Load    "glx"
        Load    "record"
        Load    "bitmap"
        Load    "freetype"
        Load    "type1"
        Load    "vbe"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier    "Keyboard1"
        Driver    "kbd"
        Option    "CoreKeyboard"
        Option    "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier    "mouse.usb"
        Driver    "mouse"
        Option    "CorePointer"
        Option    "Device"    "/dev/input/mice"
        Option    "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
        Option    "Emulate3Buttons"    "YES"
        Option    "ZAxisMapping"    "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
        Mode    0666
    EndSection
    
    # pci info: 0x10de, 0x0314, 0x0000, 0x0000
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Device1"
        Driver        "nvidia"
        Option    "NoRenderAccel"
        Option    "VideoRam"    "261120k"
        BusID        "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen        0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Monitor1"
        VendorName    "HSD"
        ModelName    "CM2015"
        HorizSync    30-63
        Option    "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    # res 1024 768
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Screen1"
        Device    "Device1"
        Monitor    "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    4
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    8
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    15
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    16
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    24
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Depth    32
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        AllowMouseOpenFail
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier    "Default Layout"
        Screen    "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard1"
        InputDevice    "mouse.usb"
    EndSection

  10. #9
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    It should work like that. (Well, maybe not, I just can find the Kogi Refresh rates, even on Kogi's own Web Site).


    So replace your existing /etc/X11/xorg.conf with this:

    Code:
    ################################################################################
    ##  Automatically generated file by buildxconf
    ##  part of the Xandros hardware detection system
    ##
    ## See Also:
    ##      'man devices-overview' for information about the detection system
    ##      'man setxconf' a utility for interacting with the detection system
    ##          to modify the X configuration
    ##      'man xorg.conf' for the format of this file
    ##
    ## Warning:
    ##      If this file is edited manually, then buildxconf will no longer
    ##      modify this file.  It must be removed to be regenerated.
    ################################################################################
    
    
    Section "Files"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/nvidia"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/altdrivers"
        ModulePath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    
        # Local Fontserver: Disabled by default.
        #FontPath    "unix/:7100"
    
        # Unscaled Bitmap Fonts:
        # Scalable TrueType and CID Fonts (via DeFoMa):
    
        # Scalable TrueType Fonts (via std X path):
    
        # Scalable Speedo and Type1 Fonts:
    
        # Scaled Bitmap fonts (ugly) :
    
        # Misc. Fonts:
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
        FontPath     "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/local/share/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/commercial"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load    "ddc"
        Load    "int10"
        Load    "xandetect"
        Load    "dbe"
        Load    "extmod"
        Load    "glx"
        Load    "record"
        Load    "bitmap"
        Load    "freetype"
        Load    "type1"
        Load    "vbe"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier    "Keyboard1"
        Driver    "kbd"
        Option    "CoreKeyboard"
        Option    "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier    "mouse.usb"
        Driver    "mouse"
        Option    "CorePointer"
        Option    "Device"    "/dev/input/mice"
        Option    "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
        Option    "Emulate3Buttons"    "YES"
        Option    "ZAxisMapping"    "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
        Mode    0666
    EndSection
    
    # pci info: 0x10de, 0x0314, 0x0000, 0x0000
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Device1"
        Driver        "nvidia"
        Option    "NoRenderAccel"
        Option    "VideoRam"    "261120k"
        BusID        "PCI:1:0:0"
        #Screen        0
        Option          "backingstore"          "true"
        Option          "TwinView"
        Option          "MetaModes"             "1024x768,1024x768; 1024x768; 800x600,800x600; 800x600"
        Option          "TwinViewOrientation"   "CRT-0 LeftOf CRT-1"
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor"      "CRT,CRT"
        Option          "HWcursor"
        Option          "CursorShadow"
        Option          "CursorShadowAlpha"     "32"
        Option          "CursorShadowXOffset"   "3"
        Option          "CursorShadowYOffset"   "3"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Monitor0"
        #VendorName    "HSD"
        #ModelName    "CM2015"
        HorizSync    30-60
        VertRefresh  55-75
        Option    "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Monitor1"
        #VendorName    "Kogi"
        #ModelName    "L4AX"
        #HorizSync    30-60 #Rates are not stated by Manufacturer
        #VertRefresh  55-75 #Rates are not stated by Manufacturer
        Option    "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    # res 1024 768
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Screen1"
        Device    "Device1"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection    "Display"
            Viewport 0 0
            Depth    16
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Viewport 0 0
            Depth    24
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection    "Display"
            Viewport 0 0
            Depth    32
            Modes    "1024x768"    "832x624"    "800x600"    "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        AllowMouseOpenFail
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier    "Default Layout"
        Screen    0 "Screen1" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard1"
        InputDevice    "mouse.usb"
    EndSection
    The only thing is that I cannot know which of your monitor will be at the right, and which at the left.

    Tell me how it goes...

    In this setup, your Kogi monitor is placed at the right of the other one.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  11. #10
    Just Joined! WebThingy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bellingham, WA
    Posts
    69
    Ok, I switched the code and fortunately my IC Power monitor is still working fine and acting as numero uno, but still no second monitor.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you for editing that code for me, I appreciate it

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •