Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I booted my pc today, and it for some reason said it had detected a new CD-ROM drive (Mt CD-writer) and i have phpsysinfo working on my computer in there, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790

    Odd thing about CD-ROM


    I booted my pc today, and it for some reason said it had detected a new CD-ROM drive (Mt CD-writer) and i have phpsysinfo working on my computer in there, not i have 4 IDE devices in my computer (2 Hard Disks, 1 CD-RW and 1 DVD-ROM) I haven't got a SCSI card AT ALL, but somehow linux believes i have a SCSI CD-Writer on my computer!!!! will this cause anything major to happen? Or is it jus a little bug somewhere?
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    i couldnt really follow your post but i think ur saying that ur IDE burner is being installed as /dev/scd0 (scsi cdrw)

    this is supposed to happen, as all cd burning programs ive seen for linux only support scsi burners, so ur drive is being run thru a scsi emulation thing, so it shows up as scsi.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Ah, right, that makes sense as to why it's showing up as a SCSI drive! But then, why is it ALSO showing up as an IDE device ASWELL? http://212.158.224.172/~sdousley/phpSysInfo-2.1/ Look here, the hdd(CW018D ATAPI CD-R/RW) ios the same drive as the 'SCSI' one!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    do the symlinks /dev/hdd, /dev/cdrom, and /dev/scd0 exists and what do they point to.

    also what device is in /etc/fstab for /mnt/cdrom

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    /mnt/cdrom points to device: /dev/cdrom in fstab

    the /dev/hdd symlink points to nothing, the /dev/cdrom points to hdb (My DVD ROM drive, as does /dev/dvd, and /dev/scd0 points to nothing either!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    forgot u had 2 drives, what does /etc/fstab say about /mnt/cdrom2 then follow those links till u fidn what in /dev it uses

  8. #7
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Code:
    /dev/cdrecorder      /media/cdrecorder    auto       ro,noauto,user,exec   0 0
    /dev/cdrom           /media/cdrom         auto       ro,noauto,user,exec   0 0
    /dev/dvd             /media/dvd           auto       ro,noauto,user,exec   0 0
    That is my fstab, i am not sure as to which CD drive to follow! the fstab has been changed loads since i last looked at it i think!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  9. #8
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    I havs done an ls -l /dev/<name> and the cdrecorder points to sr0 <- (Number 0 not letter O ) the cdrom points to hdb as does the dvd?!?!
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    umm.. . i'll just ask this here coz it's kinda related.

    are sr* block devices no longer supported in RH9 then? the /dev/MAKEDEV script doesn't know how to make it. so i guess it's scd* then. i'm configuring that SCSI emu on my CDRW as i'm getting annoyed by the very, very long delays i get when i try to do a burn and i forget to insert a blank CD into the drive.

    or do i have to manually make this device with the makenode command?
    Registered User #345074

  11. #10
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    I'm not sure bout RH9, i'm using SuSE 9.0
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •