Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone! I'm new here and I'm fairly new to Linux as well. Fairly in the sense that I can install it, partition normally and get software running... I guess ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Alert with Hard Drive issues... you've been warned!

Hello Everyone!
    I'm new here and I'm fairly new to Linux as well. Fairly in the sense that I can install it, partition normally and get software running... I guess that's about it! Bottomline I need practice.

So why am I posting in the Hardware section well it's a long story - might want to take a seat - about a year and a half ago when I was preparing myself to dive into Linux for the first time I brought myself to a bit of a predicament. I got Fedora Core 2 then all four cd's and prepared my PC for Linux. Being a newbie I messed up bad and ended up with a hard drive filled with bad sectors. Well seeing the problem at hand the Linux adrenaline jump I had soon faded!

I found myself the next day buying myself a new Hard Drive, a better one well that's what I thought at first. A few months later I Linux bug bites back and I'm partitioning my Hard Drive for Fedora once again. This time by sheer luck perhaps I managed to get it installed! It was working! Eureka!! I played around for a while and then felt the urge to surf the net. I couldn't on Linux as I had a software modem back then so I restarted the PC and waited for the bootloader to come up so I could switch to Windows. Alas fedora had eaten the loader... or windows or something 'cos I couldn't load windows. I thought up front bad installation, no problem I'll do it again so I through the whole strenous task of reinstalling windows then fedora to my specifications and ended up thinking of ways to decomboobalate the fedora cd as still windows was dead! I did everything right! Even my brother tried and he's quite good at Linux, end result was the same.