Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Sorry, I mixed it up with a related thread, where I had posted about how to retrieve the dmesgs. Just run this command to see the last dmesgs: Code: dmesg ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578

    Sorry, I mixed it up with a related thread, where I had posted about how to retrieve the dmesgs. Just run this command to see the last dmesgs:
    Code:
    dmesg | tail -20

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Piscataway, NJ
    Posts
    27
    I should have known about dmesg. I don't like being clueless. But anyway:

    bttv: driver version 0.9.12 loaded
    bttv: using 4 buffers with 2080k (520 pages) each for capture
    bttv: Bt8xx card found (0).
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 0000:00:09.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:09.1
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:14.2
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:14.3
    bttv0: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:00:09.0, irq: 11, latency: 32, mmio: 0xa0300000
    bttv0: detected: Hauppauge WinTV [card=10], PCI subsystem ID is 0070:13eb
    bttv0: using: Hauppauge (bt87 [card=10,autodetected]
    bttv0: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffdb [init]
    bttv0: Hauppauge/Voodoo msp34xx: reset line init [5]
    tuner: chip found @ 0xc2
    bttv0: Hauppauge eeprom: model=44801, tuner=Temic 4036FY5 (, radio=no
    bttv0: using tuner=8
    tuner: type set to 8 (Temic NTSC (4036 FY5))
    bttv0: i2c: checking for MSP34xx @ 0x80... not found
    bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
    bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
    bttv0: registered device video0
    bttv0: registered device vbi0
    bttv0: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That seems rather strange. It appears to have detected an MSP34xx audio decoder chip on your card, but I see no trace of it loading the module for it. When you upgraded to 2.6, did you mount the new sysfs? If you did, please run this command and post the output:
    Code:
    for dir in /sys/class/video4linux/video0/device/i2c-*/?-????; do echo "$dir"; cat "$dir"/name; done
    If you don't have sysfs mounted, you should mount it anyway. Do this:
    Code:
    mkdir /sys
    mount -t sysfs none /sys
    You should also add an entry to your fstab to add it at boot. It should look similar to the entry for /proc.

    Also, check if you have the msp3400 module loaded, and if you don't, try loading it manually and see if it makes any difference.

    If none of the above works, could you reboot into your 2.4 kernel in which it works, load the modules, locate the appropriate dmesgs, and post them?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Piscataway, NJ
    Posts
    27
    sysfs was NOT mounted... Why? What is it for? Is it going to make a difference? Are these questions annoying?

    [root@localhost dwayne]# for dir in /sys/class/video4linux/video0/device/i2c-*/?-????; do echo "$dir"; cat "$dir"/name; done
    /sys/class/video4linux/video0/device/i2c-2/2-0061
    Temic NTSC (4036 FY5)
    [root@localhost dwayne]# modprobe msp3400
    FATAL: Module msp3400 already in kernel.
    [root@localhost dwayne]#

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Piscataway, NJ
    Posts
    27
    (sigh) I'm sorry. I did a "man alsamixer" a little while ago and saw that m toggles mute...

    Thanks for all your help Dolda. I really appreciate it.

  7. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    As they say... there is always a simple solution to a complex problem. =)

    Just thought I'd clarify sysfs. It doesn't make any difference to the drivers or anything, it's a purely informational filesystem that was introduced somewhere along the line of Linux 2.5, and I believe it is what will solve a great deal of the auto-configuration problems in Linux. It lists virtually all the information about your hardware in a very good organized manner. It is actually a quite ingenious invention. The reason why it wasn't mounted is because the 2.4 kernels don't have it, and thus your distro had naturally not mounted it for you.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3

    QuickCam still doesnt work

    I have the same problem except with my logitch quickcam. The problem is this
    ************************************************** ****
    # xawtv -c /dev/video0

    can't open /dev/video0: No such device
    v4l-conf had some trouble, trying to continue anyway
    v4l2: open /dev/video0: No such device
    v4l2: open /dev/video0: No such device
    v4l: open /dev/video0: No such device
    no video grabber device available
    ************************************************** ****
    I have: 1. suse 10.0 (kernel 2.6.13-15-default)
    2. the Logitech Notebook quickcam
    I read that the driver for this webcam is pwc (the philips pwc driver)
    I have installed the pwc module via "modprobe pwc" .
    I checked it was installed with "lsmod" which printed pwc 80916 0
    I have been trying to get this camera working for a long time now. can someone assist?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •