Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Ok, I need to know how to get my modem working. When I go to the intenet setup thing, the modem isnt recognized or something. I really dont know what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie Van Halen Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    N. Canton Ohio
    Posts
    208

    Modem


    Ok, I need to know how to get my modem working. When I go to the intenet setup thing, the modem isnt recognized or something. I really dont know what I should ask to do because I really dont know anything about linux. Once I get the internet connections workin', I will just go to the IRC chat. Also, I have Dialup and my modem is a Sporster28,800 fax modem. It is external, and I am pretty sure that it is not a WINmodem. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    HI !!

    which distro are you using ???
    in KDE, try KPPP........ configure and query your modem from it......



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie Van Halen Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    N. Canton Ohio
    Posts
    208
    Hello.
    I am usin fedora core 2. And I might have already tried KPPP but I am not sure I will check. Thanks for your time.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie Van Halen Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    N. Canton Ohio
    Posts
    208
    ...Well I tried to query it from KPPP but it says unable to. So what should I do, or is there anything that I can do?

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !!


    $ gnome-config-network
    try to configure your modem........ or in KDE, there is Network Tools.......



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie Van Halen Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    N. Canton Ohio
    Posts
    208
    Ok I will try that.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Please do not post more than one thread on the same topic. Continue the discussion here:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/red...nnections.html
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •