Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux and using fedora core 5. I want to install Realtek RTL8139 family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC to configure Dataone broadband. I donít see any drive ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

install Realtek RTL8139

I am new to Linux and using fedora core 5. I want to install Realtek RTL8139 family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC to configure Dataone broadband. I donít see any drive for the above said NIC in FC5.i went to Realtek website where they have linux24x-8139cp(160).zip, i downloaded it. It contains 3 files. 1. Readme file, 2.8139too.c, 3.makefile. They didnít give any instructions to install. I unzipped and went inside the directory and typed makefile in terminal it is giving error.i want to know that the drive I downloaded is correct for above said NIC or tell me where I can get the correct one and how to install the drive and configure the NIC. Pls help me.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    I use cards based on the same chipset and they just work out of the box with all Linux distros including Fedora Core 5.

Just Joined!

Re:

ya ....even i got the same prob...i have an onboard card that is easily detected but this other realtek card just wont get recognized the way it should be... ifconfig also doesnt gimme anything positive.... not even the mac addre of the damn card

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by destroyallgood View Post
    ya ....even i got the same prob...i have an onboard card that is easily detected but this other realtek card just wont get recognized the way it should be... ifconfig also doesnt gimme anything positive.... not even the mac addre of the damn card
    You really should post a new thread rather than jump on an old one; from a distance it doesn't look like you're asking a new question.

Anyway, onto some practical help...