Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm building a new computer and I decided to make my switch to Linux as well. I'm new to Linux and computer building as well, so I wanted to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Need Help deciding on a Graphics card

Hi,
    I'm building a new computer and I decided to make my switch to Linux as well. I'm new to Linux and computer building as well, so I wanted to ask you a few questions about Hardware compatibility, specifically Graphics cards.
    I'm pretty sure I will use K/Ubuntu as the OS.

Here are the (tentative) specs for the Comp:

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Orleans 2.0GHz Socket AM2

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-M55SLI-S4 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD

Memory: OCZ Gold 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

Right now, I'm looking for a model that I can use to play games, watch DVDs and movies and run that 3D desktop thing that I heard about.

Here are some models I considered buying:

BIOSTAR V7302EL16 GeForce 7300LE Supporting 256MB(128MB On board) GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Low Profile Video Card

3D Fuzion 3DFR66256X GeForce 6600 256MB DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card i

CHAINTECH SV62TC/64MB GeForce 6200TC 64MB On board(Supporting 256MB) DDR PCI Express x16 Low Profile Video Card

I heard NIVIDA has better supported drivers. Is this true?

Thank you for your help!

Just Joined!
    [QUOTE=The Iron Curtain
    I heard NIVIDA has better supported drivers. Is this true?

Thank you for your help![/QUOTE]

I prefer NVIDIA. Your MB is Nvidia based so def. go with NVIDIA.

ATI's drivers are easier to install in my opinion. Get NVIDIA over 6600 and you should be set.

Just Joined!