Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777

    i asked for output of 'uname -a'. i can suggest you after checking kernel's version only.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    75
    ok I'm sorry for being a jerk. Anyway here's what you asked for:
    Code:
    Linux localhost 2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 #1 Tue Mar 14 15:48:33 EST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    Again my apologies.

  3. #23
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777
    download this file and save it in your home folder.
    in terminal, execute this command...
    Code:
    rpm -ivh /home/user_name/file_name.rpm
    mount nfts partition....
    Code:
    mount  -t  ntfs  /dev/hdc2   /mount_point



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    75
    yes! it worked perfectly! thank you. I appreciate all your help! thanks again!

  6. #25
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777
    now add this line in /etc/fstab file for automatic mounting of NTFS partition.

    Code:
    /dev/hdc2    /mount_point   ntfs   ro,defaults,umask=0 0 0
    press 'Enter' key after adding this line. Last line /etc/fstab should be blank. save file and reboot.......




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    75
    hmm ok it worked almost perfectly. Aparently its read only. Why don't I have write access??

  8. #27
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777
    hmm ok it worked almost perfectly. Aparently its read only. Why don't I have write access??
    Linux doesn't support NTFS Write access out of box. you have to install ntfs-3g package for write access. delete NTFS entry from /etc/fstab file and follow instruction given in this Link.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    75
    I get
    Code:
    mount: unkown filesystem type 'ntfs-3g'
    when trying to mount. Of course I replaced /dev/sda1 and /mnt/ntfs_p with /dev/hdc2 and /hdc respectivley. I also noticed that this was for FC6. I'm using FC5. Should it still work?

  10. #29
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777
    yes ! it will work in FC5 too...
    did you install ntfs-3g through 'yum'?
    try to mount manually.
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hdc2   /mount_point



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    75
    yes I installed via yum and even when I try it with that command, I still get the same error.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •