Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I'm trying to get ntfs-3g working on my new linux box. I've installed suse 10.1 about a month ago and still learning the ropes. After DL'ing and installing ntfs-3g (and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164

    Post ntfs volume is dirty


    I'm trying to get ntfs-3g working on my new linux box. I've installed suse 10.1 about a month ago and still learning the ropes.

    After DL'ing and installing ntfs-3g (and all Dependencies) i tried to 'umount' my hdb1 (ntfs partition, about 100GB) Next I tried:
    # ntfs-3g /dev/hdb1 /d
    (/d exists) but I get an error similar to "volume is dirty. Run chkdsk"

    I have scoured the web in search of a linux-equiv to 'chkdsk' with no results. I don't have windows, either.

    I've tried running xfs_repair (as I saw in a post on another board), and ntfsfix and fsck. They all but solve the problem. I'm really stuck, and I really need the data on the partition intact. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    does anyone know how to fix a "dirty" ntfs volume without mounting it in windows?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    can a moderator edit the title to something that will attract some support? Perhaps "how can I run chkdsk under linux without using ms windows?" I seem to be stuck here, and after search google forever I have have uncovered nothing that works

    fsck, ntfsfix ..... others, all not solving the issue.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by felipe1982
    "how can I run chkdsk under linux without using ms windows?"
    It seems to me that the partition should mount even if it is "dirty".

    Any check disk, or "chkdsk" or "fsck" program you run on a partition must be run while the given partition is unmounted. Also, I don't believe (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) it is possible to run a "chkdsk" equivalent on an NTFS partition in Linux.

    And what's the problem with booting in Windows to correct the situation ?

    Make sure you post the output of (as root) :
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1

    rtl8150.c driver problem

    Hi Friends,

    This is my post here, so please forgive me if i am asking this question at wrong place.

    I am trying to integrate rtl8150.c driver with linux2.4.20 version for my MIPS board.
    It got compiled as a module,and when i try to insert the driver it throws following unresolved symbols:

    # insmod rtl8150.o

    Using rtl8150.o

    insmod: unresolved symbol atomic_sub_rturn

    insmod: unresolved symbol strncpy

    insmod: unresolved symbol atomic_add_return

    #



    I tried compiling along with kernel, it got compiled but at the time of kernel loading driver started infinite loop execution atomatically.


    Can anyone help me out in solving the unresolved symbols.


    Regards,
    Nagi

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    The blocks listed here were not necessarily performed in the order shown:
    Code:
    anarchy:/home/felipe # fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/hda: 6488 MB, 6488294400 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 788 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1   *           1         756     6072538+  83  Linux
    /dev/hda2             757         788      257040   83  Linux
    
    Disk /dev/hdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdb1               1       13708   110101477    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hdb3           14529       14593      522112+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Code:
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfs-3g /dev/hdb1 d
    Volume is dirty.
    Run chkdsk and try again, or use the force option.
    Mount failed.
    anarchy:/home/felipe #
    Code:
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfsmount d -o dev=/dev/hdb1
    Volume is dirty.
    Run chkdsk and try again, or use the --force option.
    Mount failed.
    anarchy:/home/felipe #
    Code:
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfsfix /dev/hdb1
    Mounting volume... OK
    Processing of $MFT and $MFTMirr completed successfully.
    NTFS volume version is 3.1.
    Setting required flags on partition... OK
    Going to empty the journal ($LogFile)... OK
    NTFS partition /dev/hdb1 was processed successfully.
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfs-3g /dev/hdb1 d
    Volume is dirty.
    Run chkdsk and try again, or use the force option.
    Mount failed.
    anarchy:/home/felipe #
    Code:
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfsinfo -m -d /dev/hdb1
    Volume is dirty.
    Run chkdsk and try again, or use the --force option.
    anarchy:/home/felipe # ntfsinfo -mf -d /dev/hdb1
    Volume is dirty.
    Forced to continue.
    Volume Information
            Name of device: /dev/hdb1
            Device state: 3
            Volume Name: DAEMON
            Volume State: 1
            Volume Version: 3.1
            Sector Size: 512
            Cluster Size: 4096
            Volume Size in Clusters: 26880242
    MFT Information
            MFT Record Size: 1024
            MFT Zone Multiplier: 1
            MFT Data Position: 24
            MFT Zone Start: 9768186
            MFT Zone End: 13128216
            MFT Zone Position: 9768186
            Current Position in First Data Zone: 13128216
            Current Position in Second Data Zone: 0
            LCN of Data Attribute for FILE_MFT: 9768186
            FILE_MFTMirr Size: 4
            LCN of Data Attribute for File_MFTMirr: 14727314
            Size of Attribute Definition Table: 2560
    FILE_Bitmap Information
            FILE_Bitmap MFT Record Number: 6
            State of FILE_Bitmap Inode: 0
            Length of Attribute List: 0
            Attribute List: (null)
            Number of Attached Extent Inodes: 0
    FILE_Bitmap Data Attribute Information
            Decompressed Runlist: not done yet
            Base Inode: 6
            Attribute Types: not done yet
            Attribute Name Length: 0
            Attribute State: 3
            Attribute Allocated Size: 3362816
            Attribute Data Size: 3360032
            Attribute Initialized Size: 3360032
            Attribute Compressed Size: 0
            Compression Block Size: 0
            Compression Block Size Bits: 0
            Compression Block Clusters: 0
    anarchy:/home/felipe #
    The blocks listed here were not necessarily performed in the order shown:

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    M8 don't even think to boot in windows!!

    I DID!!!

    chkdsk deleted all my data!! Hopefully it was just one of my backups..

    I was just trying to find a solution because I face the same prob on a 200G hdd.. And I bumped on your post..

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    Sorry about your data lose, mate. Good thing you made backups! I should get into that habit.

    So I caved in. I finally hooked up the HD to a windows machine . It did a CHKDSK, and I did not lose any date, thankfully. Next, i have to boot into my linux machine and try out ntfs-3g once again to see if I still get the "dirty volume" error.

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    beeeaauuuutiful program!! I am very happy with ntfs-3g. For those curious, you must also ensure that the kernel automatically loads fuse during boot-up, or else your NTFS partition will not load automatically at boot-up.

    I tried to upgrade my ntfs-3g-20007xxxx to the ntfs-3g-200711xxxx version, but SMART says no repos provide fuse>=2.6.0. I ran a google search, and I found two files: fuse-2.6.0-8xxxx.rpm and fuse-2.6.0-9xxxx.rpm I installed the first one and also updated to the newer ntfs-3g, but then I get an error similar to "Novell doesn't accept fuse: device does not exist" (something to this effect, I don't exactly remember, all I remember was I was confused slash angered) I installed the other fuse version I found, but I ran into the same difficulties. I search the www.ntfs-3g.org website for help, and it says "upgrade to the latest fuse version 2.6.0" (duh..i did that!)

    I reverted back to fuse 2.5.0 and ntfs-3g-200607xxxx, and I have no problems to speak of. So - what's wrong?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •