Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello Everyone, I had this problem when I changed to a new LCD monitor. The screen is black with this message "Video Mode not Supported". Briefly the Hardware and Software ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    HBN
    HBN is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Smile Video Mode not Supported


    Hello Everyone,
    I had this problem when I changed to a new LCD monitor. The screen is black with this message "Video Mode not Supported". Briefly the Hardware and Software details are:
    1. SUSE 10
    2. Dell Poweredge 1430
    3. Hyundai ImageQuest L705.

    Now I did try to configure “xf86config” but I don't think I am doing something right here. Also, since I am new to SUSE so I don't know much about it config issues.

    Help will certainly be appreciated


    Mary Christmas EVERYONE

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    boot into failsafe -> login as root -> run sax2
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7

    sax2 styll not work

    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    boot into failsafe -> login as root -> run sax2
    I try to run sax2 but after some time it load nothing.
    why?

    thirith.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    hmm,
    try sax instead of sax2. Also make sure you have logged in as the root user. And does running sax2 give you any errors?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    hmm,
    try sax instead of sax2. Also make sure you have logged in as the root user. And does running sax2 give you any errors?
    both are not work for my machine.
    also, i try the command "sax2 -l" it still not work and there is no content in the file xorg.conf

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    in that case, try running xorgconfig
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    in that case, try running xorgconfig
    Is it command line? i can not run it.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    yes it is run from the command line... and make sure you are running it as root and not as yourself.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •