Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
i have the fc1 disks. what to do now?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up


    i have the fc1 disks.

    what to do now?

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie burntfuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    158
    Doesn't FC1 have an Add/Remove Packages tool somewhere on the main menu? (Don't know whether you're using GNOME or KDE)
    I have sold my soul to the penguin

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up

    i installed the linux kernel source and so i was successful in installing the nic driver.

    i m using adsl connection, so i gave the ip, gateway and dns addresses.

    Now i am able to ping the gateway,

    but now, how to make the dialer through which i can connect to the internet.

    pls help

    thanx all

  4. #14
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    You don't really *dial* when using ADSL. You might need to configure the rp-pppoe script which I remember from my days of using DSL.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Angry

    My connection is not an always-on connection.

    i have to get connected to the internet through which i get a random ip.

    the isp has given me the dns addresses and a username, password.

    of course it is a pppoe connection,

    can u pls tell me how to setup a pppoe connection, i m using both gnome and kde.

  6. #16
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    Do you have rp-pppoe? It's PPPoE connection software. Very, very easy to setup as I remember.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up

    thanx very much buddy,

    i got the rp-pppoe from the net.

    i will try to install it, and if found any problem i'll get back to u

    thanx again

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •