Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using Linux for about 11 years, but I'm a bit out of touch with the state of Linux support for ADLS modems, routers etc - I'm only just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux ADSL

I've been using Linux for about 11 years, but I'm a bit out of touch with the state of Linux support for ADLS modems, routers etc - I'm only just getting broadband at home.

So I went into PC World and asked about their ADSL modems, and ADSL/Routers. They told me that all the (external) ADSL modems they stock are in effect WinModems, ie they need software from the operatings system in order to be able to function. I know that gallant attempts have been made to reverse-engineer Linux drivers for these modems, but I'd much rather buy a "standalone" modem that doesn't need a crutch from an operating system.

Can anyone recommend one (that you can still buy new) that they are actually using? I could use either a USB or ethernet modem.

Incidentally, I also asked about ADSL/routers, thinking that this is one other way to get broadband access. But they said no, most of their ADSL/routers also required OS support these days - although they did say that HP are an exception (but didn't stock any). I find all this very disturbing, to the point whether I wonder whether Linux is seriously under threat.

Quote Originally Posted by busterG
    Incidentally, I also asked about ADSL/routers, thinking that this is one other way to get broadband access. But they said no, most of their ADSL/routers also required OS support these days - although they did say that HP are an exception (but didn't stock any). I find all this very disturbing, to the point whether I wonder whether Linux is seriously under threat.
    Mine came as a standard BT Voyager router and worked pretty much straight from the box. I also got a USB working before that but that depends on the chipset as to how you configure it.