Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Originally Posted by antidrugue Mandriva 2007 and Knoppix 5.1.1 both running in Debian Etch, with the help of QEMU. It took me some time to get QEMU to work nicely, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By my Gat and [modded] PSP listening to Gangsta Rap
    Posts
    191

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Mandriva 2007 and Knoppix 5.1.1 both running in Debian Etch, with the help of QEMU.



    It took me some time to get QEMU to work nicely, I read a lot of outdated information and tutorials, only to find that to proper way to do it was rather simple.
    If anyone is interested, here is how I succeded.

    Why is is 3d? Isnt that hard t operate and how u do dat?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    He would be using compiz or beryl with aiglx or xgl. These are fairly easy to set up in some cases and if you want help setting it up, start a new thread with your vid card info.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By my Gat and [modded] PSP listening to Gangsta Rap
    Posts
    191
    this is my 187th post [sorry just had to say...] anyways, back on topic, u think my system can handle dat?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    This system ?
    Quote Originally Posted by realg187
    IBM Personal Computer 300PL
    256 MB Ram
    Pentium III 677 MHz CPU
    10 GB Hard Drive
    I guess it can, but it's on the edge. Also it depends greatly on your video card.

    Perhaps you can start a thread about that.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    This system ?


    I guess it can, but it's on the edge. Also it depends greatly on your video card.

    Perhaps you can start a thread about that.

    I wouldnt say so.... I have 1700mhz CPU and geforce 5200, but my graphics sucks. Specialy when rotating cube....

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By my Gat and [modded] PSP listening to Gangsta Rap
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    This system ?


    I guess it can, but it's on the edge. Also it depends greatly on your video card.

    Perhaps you can start a thread about that.
    I have a 4MB, but it dont work in Linux, I have to use my 2MB, but Im trying to get a 64MB....

  8. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by realg187
    I have a 4MB, but it dont work in Linux, I have to use my 2MB, but Im trying to get a 64MB....
    A 64MB card (Intel, ATI or NVIDIA) is the bare minimum. So I guess you are not in luck on this one.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By my Gat and [modded] PSP listening to Gangsta Rap
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    A 64MB card (Intel, ATI or NVIDIA) is the bare minimum. So I guess you are not in luck on this one.
    WHat, until recently I didnt even know it went up to 64! The highest I seen was 4!

  10. #9
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Video memory goes much higher than 64MB. The highest I could find was 1GB.

    As a side note, I need to ask...do you even know what 187 means in the context your using it in? I know this is off topic but does ever bug me.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  11. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    By my Gat and [modded] PSP listening to Gangsta Rap
    Posts
    191
    1. <snip>link removed</snip> for 3D GUI configureation [so this thread can remian on topic]
    2. 187 is the code for homocide, Gangstaz use it lots..
    Last edited by oz; 02-09-2007 at 07:16 PM. Reason: removed URL - merged posts into this thread

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •