Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
yea so its been a while since ive used this forum but you guys seem to be one of the best out there so here it goes....[prepare yourself for a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    rh7
    rh7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    36

    Mouse detection on Mandrake 10


    yea so its been a while since ive used this forum but you guys seem to be one of the best out there so here it goes....[prepare yourself for a huge noobix question] i reinstalled mandrake 10 community edition last night. and the mouse wouldn't work... what'd i do and how do i fix it

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    What type of mouse do you have? And can you post the mouse section of your /etc/X11/XF86Config? Thanks.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    rh7
    rh7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    its just a generic 3-button mouse w/ scroll that came with my compaq:


    Section "Input Device"
    Indentifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "/dev/mouse"
    Option "2AxisMapping" "6 7"
    End Section

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    here's a tip if you have an USB mouse:
    check your kernelconfiguration and make sure you have the following supported:

    usbcore
    usb-hid
    usb-uhci (or similar)

    you can also do an lsmod and look for those, in case you compiled them as modules without noticing =) (check /lib/modules to be sure)

    also look for modules called
    input
    mousedev

    Snoop on!

    /ooop

  5. #5
    rh7
    rh7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    its ps2

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    sorry missed that post.

    are you sure Protocol should be "ExplorerPS/2"??

  7. #7
    rh7
    rh7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    im not sure

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    Try just "PS/2" then....

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    in my config, zaxismapping is set to "4 5" not "6 7", this might cause ur mousewheel not to work

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    1
    I had a similar problem installing Mandrake 10 under Microsoft Virtual PC, to fix it, I had to create a symbolic link to /dev/psaux called mouse in the /dev directory.

    Dunno if that would help?

    Rob

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •