Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
OK, then. How about "cat /proc/bus/usb/devices"? Are there a few hubs listed?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie dilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, GB
    Posts
    237

    OK, then. How about "cat /proc/bus/usb/devices"?

    Are there a few hubs listed?
    Bus Error: Passengers dumped. Hech gap yo'q.

  2. #12
    Just Joined! robz0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    19
    Code:
    []$ cat /proc/bus/usb/devices
    cat /proc/bus/usb/devices: No such file or directory

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie dilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, GB
    Posts
    237
    Then try

    cat /proc/bus/usb

    cat /proc/bus/pci/devices

    At least the PCI devices should be displayed. The first one should be absent as well, but "ls /proc/bus/" should show something.

    The proc file system could be completely absent, but as I said already, then you would have a very strange distro or configuration. You could mount the proc file sytem even now. But I don't have the mount command in mind and first check the PCI devices.
    Bus Error: Passengers dumped. Hech gap yo'q.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined! robz0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    19
    I don't have a strange distribution, I'm just using a default build of Fedora Core 6. I'll try those commands later on, thanks for your support

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Turn of ACPI in Bios

    I did not use the acpi=off in my boot option. I disabled the ACPI management in the bios.

  7. #16
    Just Joined! robz0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    19
    Wow, you joined just to tell me that? Thank you a lot!!! I'm going to try that right now, fingers crossed. I have no clue where I can find acpi management in the BIOS, I hope for the best

  8. #17
    Just Joined! robz0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    19
    Alright, I realize this is very outdated, and this bump is totally crazy, but I need to get this out for anyone with the same MoBo as me that has trouble entering the realm of Linux.

    The asnwer lies in the BIOS. Update it. I updated my BIOS to version1208, and now the latest spawn of Ubuntu (7.10) boots of the CD (i386 as well as amb64) without any boot parameters, and my mouse an keyboard work seemlessly. I hope i can make the life of someone easier with this post

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •