Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I am using a AMD 64 X2 5200+ on Ubuntu Feisty 32 bit, and when I run 'cat /proc/cpuinfo' it returns the following: processor : 0 vendor_id : AuthenticAMD cpu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ and Ubuntu 7.04 32 bit


    I am using a AMD 64 X2 5200+ on Ubuntu Feisty 32 bit, and when I run 'cat /proc/cpuinfo' it returns the following:

    processor : 0
    vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family : 15
    model : 67
    model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1000.000
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 2
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 1
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm cr8legacy ts fid vid ttp tm stc
    bogomips : 2011.05
    clflush size : 64

    processor : 1
    vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family : 15
    model : 67
    model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1000.000
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 1
    cpu cores : 2
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 1
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm cr8legacy ts fid vid ttp tm stc
    bogomips : 2011.05
    clflush size : 64

    Now, considering the 5200+ is a 2.6 Ghz dual core, shouldnt the 'cpu Mhz' say 2600.00 Mhz instead of 1000 Mhz? What can I do to fix this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi jgplummer,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    execute 'cpufreq-info' command and post output here.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
    Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
    analyzing CPU 0:
    driver: powernow-k8
    CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0 1
    hardware limits: 1000 MHz - 2.60 GHz
    available frequency steps: 2.60 GHz, 2.40 GHz, 2.20 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1000 MHz
    available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
    current policy: frequency should be within 1000 MHz and 2.60 GHz.
    The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
    within this range.
    current CPU frequency is 1000 MHz.
    analyzing CPU 1:
    driver: powernow-k8
    CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0 1
    hardware limits: 1000 MHz - 2.60 GHz
    available frequency steps: 2.60 GHz, 2.40 GHz, 2.20 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.80 GHz, 1000 MHz
    available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
    current policy: frequency should be within 1000 MHz and 2.60 GHz.
    The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
    within this range.
    current CPU frequency is 1000 MHz.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Feisty has recognized your cpu correctly and configured it using 'cpufreq' utility.
    its a very useful utility. current policy is 'ondemand', which means you have desktop computer and whenever system will require more 'cpu power', cpufreq will switch to 2.6 GHz.
    if you have laptop, policy should be 'powersave'.
    check the manual of 'cpufreq'. cpufreq --help.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •