Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
Hello I just installed MUSIX on a Dell Optiplex GX110 but need some help... When I boot the PC , I get error messages like this : ICE1712 probe of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    seventh floor in old Ginder Ale (big brewery) in Merchtem (small village), Belgium(small country)
    Posts
    3

    No ICE1712 cards found


    Hello
    I just installed MUSIX on a Dell Optiplex GX110 but need some help...
    When I boot the PC , I get error messages like this :
    ICE1712 probe of 0000.01.0b.... failed with ERROR -12
    and
    3C59X cannot find the slot for index 0 (range 0-0), ERROR -16
    The M-audio Delta 1010 soundcard isn't found when I try to run envy24control .
    root@MusixBox:/home/peter# envy24control
    No ICE1712 cards found
    but when I do lspci i get :
    root@MusixBox:/home/peter# lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 GMCH [Graphics Memory Controller Hub] (rev 03)
    00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 03)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA USB (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801AA SMBus (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio (rev 02)
    01:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. ICE1712 [Envy24] PCI Multi-Channel I/O Controller (rev 02)
    01:0c.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado] (rev 7
    The network card works as i can browse the net and post this post (after typing "dhclient" at the terminal), but when i try apt-get update, i get errors telling me apt can't fetch the files from sources.list. I adjusted the list but it doesn't work.

    I don't know where to start looking for sollutions as I don't really understand what is missing, please if someone can explain it ...

    thanks
    Last edited by FreqRush; 05-10-2007 at 10:01 AM. Reason: edited lay-out

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    seventh floor in old Ginder Ale (big brewery) in Merchtem (small village), Belgium(small country)
    Posts
    3

    alsaconf

    OK I found a part of the answer

    I just typed "alsaconf" at the terminal and the alsa configurator started
    ┌───────────────────────────────────────────────── ────────────┐
    │ │
    │ ALSA CONFIGURATOR │
    │ version 1.0.11 │
    │ │
    │ This script is a configurator for │
    │ Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) driver. │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ You should stop all sound applications now. │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ │
    │ │
    ├───────────────────────────────────────────────── ────────────┤
    │ < OK > │
    └───────────────────────────────────────────────── ────────────┘

    looking for cards
    Unloading ALSA sound driver modules: snd-ice1712 snd-ice17xx-ak4xxx snd-ak4xxx-adda snd-cs8427 snd-i2c snd-mpu401-uart snd-seq-dummy snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi snd-rawmidi snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-seq-device snd-intel8x0 snd-ac97-codec snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm snd-timer snd-page-alloc.
    Building card database...

    ┌──────────────────────────────────────┐
    │ Searching sound cards │
    │ ┌────────────────────────────────┐ │
    │ │ 97% │ │
    │ └────────────────────────────────┘ │
    └──────────────────────────────────────┘



    and gave me options to set up cards

    ┌──────────────────────────Soundcard Selection─────────────────────────────┐
    │ │
    │ Following card(s) are found on your system. │
    │ Choose a soundcard to configure: │
    │ ┌───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────────────────┐ │
    │ │intel8x0 Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio (rev 02) │ │
    │ │ice1712 VIA Technologies Inc. ICE1712 [Envy24] PCI Multi-Channel I/O│ │
    │ │legacy Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips │ │
    │ │ │ │
    │ │ │ │
    │ │ │ │
    │ │ │ │
    │ │ │ │
    │ └───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────────────────┘ │
    ├───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────────────────────┤
    │ < OK > <Cancel> │
    └───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────────────────────┘


    I make my choice ...


    ┌──────────────────────────────────────────── ────┐
    │ │
    │ Configuring snd-ice1712 │
    │ Do you want to modify /etc/modprobe.d/sound │
    │ (and /etc/modprobe.conf if present)? │
    ├──────────────────────────────────────────── ────┤
    │ < Yes > < No > │
    └──────────────────────────────────────────── ────┘


    CARD_DRIVER snd-ice1712
    ...copy conf.modules and make changes.

    tadaaa!!!

    ┌───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────┐
    │ │
    │ │
    │ OK, sound driver is configured. │
    │ │
    │ ALSA CONFIGURATOR │
    │ │
    │ will prepare the card for playing now. │
    │ │
    │ Now I will load the ALSA sound driver and use │
    │ amixer to raise the default volumes. │
    │ You can change the volume later via a mixer │
    │ program such as alsamixer or gamix. │
    │ │
    ├───────────────────────────────────────────────── ────92%──┤
    │ < OK > │
    └───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────┘



    Running update-modules...
    Loading driver...
    Setting default volumes...

    Nuevo en Musix 1.0, carga snd-seq forzadamente
    Now ALSA is ready to use. For adjustment of volumes, use your favorite mixer. Have a lot of fun!


    Thank you friendly Linux

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    seventh floor in old Ginder Ale (big brewery) in Merchtem (small village), Belgium(small country)
    Posts
    3

    network settings for apt-get ?

    currently , this is the state of my "interfaces" file:
    root@MusixBox:/home/peter# cat /etc/network/interfaces
    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(, ifdown(

    # The loopback interface
    # automatically added when upgrading
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback


    iface dsl-provider inet ppp
    provider dsl-provider
    and this is what resolv.conf looks like :
    root@MusixBox:/home/peter# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    I use a D-Link DSL-524T modem/router that has a configuration set to "Use auto discovered DNS only" and to "disable DDNS server" .

    Could someone please explain what the difference is between Konqueror and apt-get when browsing the net , please ? Or a link ?
    Thanks friendly Linux .

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •