Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Well after trying to install a copy of Debian (Over the top of the original Xandros) I gave up after 18 hours and restored my hard disk using my Ghost ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    14

    MBR


    Well after trying to install a copy of Debian (Over the top of the original Xandros) I gave up after 18 hours and restored my hard disk using my Ghost backup.

    The original Xandros installation worked fine however I was unable to use my XP installation. I fixed this by fixing the MBR and can now boot back into XP (Most important at this point) but of course cannot boot into Linux.

    Is anyone able to now help me get back to the workable original Xandros/ XP installation by fixing the MBR or any other way? Please give line by line details as to what I must now do.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    14

    MBR

    What I have to work with is ;
    1. The original bootable Xandros installation CD
    2. A bootable XP partition
    3. A probably almost intact Linux installation.
    4. A Symantec Ghost Backup of the drive.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    boot with Xandros CD and enter into rescue mode by typing "linux rescue" at boot prompt.

    now reinstall boot loader.

    you're done.
    NEVER stop/pause Journey of Learning -Travelling Soldier ( Me )

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    14

    MBR

    I'm not sure the solution is that easy (At least from my point of view).

    I have installed <> 120Mb (via a slow dial up) of updates plus other installs (Win4Lin etc) I dont want to loose them. I believe that I have a totally operation system there if I can get it to boot.

    I dont want to have to start from scractch but more importantly I want to know how to fix this situation because it has occured in the past and I'm sure will again in the future so it is an important part of the learning process for me.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    this is JUST related to Boot Loader and NOT with any data
    NEVER stop/pause Journey of Learning -Travelling Soldier ( Me )

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    14

    MBR

    I'm not sure who has this all very wrong but nonetheless I do believe that my problem has nothing to do with space avalable. I believe that the system is fine it just currently doesnt even know about the Linux booting option.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    14

    MBR

    Got the bit about the rescue console, no problem but once I get there how exactly do I "Just reinstall the boot loader"? What do I type?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •