Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
Hi, Not exactly familiar with serial port communication--and thats causing a lot of grief... unable to get the WYSE dumb terminal working.....I have checked the serial port setting-they seem to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    9

    Connecting WYSE terminals through serial port extensions (Perle board)


    Hi,
    Not exactly familiar with serial port communication--and thats causing a lot of grief...
    unable to get the WYSE dumb terminal working.....I have checked the serial port setting-they seem to be fine...the perle serial port extension (PCI card giving 4 port outlet ) ports show up as ttyPS0-ttyPS3
    Running these commands gives

    setserial -a /dev/ttyPS1
    /dev/ttyPS1, Line 1, UART: Cirrus, Port: 0xe008, IRQ: 2
    Baud_base: 921600, close_delay: 500, divisor: 0
    closing_wait: 30000
    Flags: spd_normal


    setserial -a /dev/ttyS0
    /dev/ttyS0, Line 0, UART: 16550A, Port: 0x03f8, IRQ: 4
    Baud_base: 115200, close_delay: 50, divisor: 0
    closing_wait: 3000
    Flags: spd_normal skip_test



    echo /etc/hosts > /dev/ttyPS1
    just waits/hangs on the next line.

    contents of log file ----> mgetty.log.ttyPS1

    07/27 08:51:17 PS1 tio_get_rs232_lines: status: RTS DTR
    07/27 08:51:17 PS1 WARNING: DSR is off - modem turned off or bad cable?
    07/27 08:51:17 PS1 lowering DTR to reset Modem
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 tss: set speed to 9600 (015)
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 tio_set_flow_control( HARD )
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 waiting for line to clear (VTIME=1), read:
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 waiting for line to clear (VTIME=3), read:
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 removing lock file
    07/27 08:51:18 PS1 waiting...
    07/27 09:51:17 PS1 checking lockfiles, locking the line
    07/27 09:51:17 PS1 makelock(ttyPS1) called
    07/27 09:51:17 PS1 do_makelock: lock='/var/lock/LCK..ttyPS1'
    07/27 09:51:17 PS1 lock made
    07/27 09:51:17 PS1 waiting for line to clear (VTIME=3), read:
    07/27 09:51:18 PS1 utmp + wtmp entry made
    07/27 09:51:18 PS1 tio_set_flow_control( HARD )
    07/27 09:51:18 PS1 print welcome banner (/etc/issue)
    07/27 09:55:18 PS1 getlogname: timeout
    07/27 09:55:18 PS1 getlogname (AUTO_PPP), read:


    ------------------------
    have I set it up as a modem ? Instead of a direct connection..now I am lost...

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Southwest Missouri
    Posts
    24
    In my (little) experience, i just typed
    w/out quotes
    "getty ttyS0 9600,8,N,1"

    and the terminals worked.

    I realize it's not much help,and I was just using a built in RS-232 port, but thats what I did.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for the reply
    finally gave up on that board..using anther pci board and that looks all good...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •