Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have been stuck for more than two weeks now trying to install various Linux packages without success. Therefor I will start over by aksing a few very basic and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Preparing Hard Drive


    I have been stuck for more than two weeks now trying to install various Linux packages without success.
    Therefor I will start over by aksing a few very basic and probably stupid questions concerning my hard drive (Maxtor 100 Gb). There isn't any software installed on this computer. The Maxtor is the second hard drive that I have installed the previous one was a Western Digital (80Gb) which didn't work either.
    Does the hard drive have to be partitioned with Fdisk prior to inserting a Linux installation disk?
    If so, would that be a 16 or 32 bit format?
    Is there a problem with hard drives being recognized by Linux software?

    I have also changed out the cables and the CD/DVD hardware.

    If it isn't preparing the hard drive could the problem lie with something in the way the CMOS is set Up?

    Thanks for any help or suggestions.
    Owen

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    It is not necessary for the drive to be partitioned or
    formatted. The Linux installation will do all that. Most
    computers will automatically detect the drive and set the
    BIOS parameters correctly, but some do not. In that case
    you must enter setup and select "detect hard drives" or
    something of that nature. It must also be set to boot from
    the cdrom. When the cd boots, it should detect the drive.
    If it does not, make sure the cables, drive jumpers and
    so forth are set properly.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie rinjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    227
    Hi,
    what were the problems that you encountered during your installation?
    Check what rcgreen has mentioned and try installing again.
    If you face problems, post the error messages here.

    Good luck...
    Linux Rocks!!!!
    -- Rinjo
    Setup: Oses: Windows 7 HB and Fedora 17 dual boot Hardware: HP Pavilion G6-2005AX laptop, AMD A8 Quad Core, 4 GB RAM, 1.5 GB dual Graphics card, 500GB HDD.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30
    [QUOTE=rinjo;497614]Hi,
    what were the problems that you encountered during your installation?
    Check what rcgreen has mentioned and try installing again.
    If you face problems, post the error messages here.

    Good luck... [

    At this point I'm not sure where the problem lies. I have without success tried to install two versions of Kubuntu, one version of Ubuntu and both the 32 and 64 bit versions of Mandriva 2007.
    BUT !!!
    Mandriva One installed real slick, no problem!
    Right now I'm wondering why the other editions did not install. The Ubuntu and Kubuntu did not give any indications, just started with the splash screen and went slower than slow and soon stalled. The Mandriva 2007 was more helpful with access to the failure logs within a minute or so from attempting to install.
    The hint was numerous lines with
    <6> attempt to access beyond end of device
    <6> hdc; rw=0 want 8832932, limit 533144
    <buffer I/O erron device hdc, logical block 22082xx
    Searching the web I found that these errors were quite common and no one seems to have a definate solution. Most concur that the hdc refers to the CD drive . I've switched cables and now awaiting another CD and DVD drives.
    The I/O error suggests that it may have to do with the hard drive which according to Maxtor should be recognized as LBA of
    CYL= 194259
    Heads= 16
    Sectors=63
    No matter how the CMOS choses, LBA, LARGE, CHS , AUTO defines the hard drive the correct values are not arrived at. I had the same problem with a Wester Digital 80 Gig HD.

    As Mandriva One is working o.k. I probably won't mess the set up but I can't keep from wondering what the difference is in the newer software so that it won't install when the older stuff will?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •