Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
So I created 3 seperate partitions: Ext3: / 8Gig ext3: /boot 8Gig Swap: swap 512M So im not sure if I had created the partitions correctly or what not. During ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13

    Installation error Occured


    So I created 3 seperate partitions:

    Ext3: / 8Gig
    ext3: /boot 8Gig
    Swap: swap 512M

    So im not sure if I had created the partitions correctly or what not. During my installation I received an error "Package NetworkManager was not found on the medium" but I did a check on the disk to make sure there weren't any problems and it came out clean. Im completely lost as what to do now . Btw im using openSUSE.

  2. #2
    Linux User infoshirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    397

    Cool

    Hey,
    Well partitions are correct, it will not give you any problems. The problem is in your CD/DVD. It is lacking some packages. Just try with some other CD/DVD. Though i would not recommend you such type of partitions. As it is always better /secure to create /home, /usr partitions atleast. Your partitions should be like this:- (Minimum Recomended)

    / 2GB -- It contains your /etc, /sbin, /bin known for commands.

    /boot 500MB -- Contains All booting related stuff i.e kernel, initrd.

    /usr 4GB -- Every application that you select goes here.

    /home 500MB -- Contains User related info.

    If you have ample of space left still, make your /usr and /home with larger space as per your convinience.
    Regards,

    who |grep -i blonde |
    date; cd~; unzip; touch;
    strip; finger; mount; gasp;
    yes; uptime; umount;
    sleep

    Newbie clicks
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

  3. #3
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13
    awesome thank you, i mean i'll try to re download the suse cd's again but if that doesn't work I'll switch to ubunt or kubunt. the partitions i don't have a problem with, those are easy enough to change thank you this helps alot.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by sciontist View Post
    So I created 3 seperate partitions:

    Ext3: / 8Gig
    ext3: /boot 8Gig
    Swap: swap 512M
    Just my opinion, but 8 GB seems rather excessive for a /boot partition unless there is some good reason for having it so large.
    oz

  6. #5
    Linux User infoshirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    397

    Cool

    Hey,
    Just if you want to goin for Ubuntu. Check your hardware specs compatibility with Ubuntu hardware Support list, so that you can avoid hardware issues(if any). see below link-->
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport
    Regards,

    who |grep -i blonde |
    date; cd~; unzip; touch;
    strip; finger; mount; gasp;
    yes; uptime; umount;
    sleep

    Newbie clicks
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Actual space used by /boot partition is 30-60MB only. Its recommended to allocate not more that 102MB space.
    I have never created separate /boot partition and there is no need of it unless you are using LVMs.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Yeah, I don't usually create a /boot partition either. On those occasions that I have made one, I only used 50 MB, which was more than enough. I think those extra GBs would be better used perhaps on a /home partition. Again, just my opinion.
    oz

  9. #8
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13
    No, its no problem I have a 200g hd, I figured I had enough to spare . I just need a great *nix working environment so that I may program and have a clean running system with a minimal install. All my hardware is compatible with unbuntu, =). This ubuntu is only 699megs, is it only one cd? If it is I hope it has what I need.

  10. #9
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13
    Heys guys, im under a live cd of mandriva, the ubuntu didnt work that well, now im on to distro number 3. I tried running mandrive from the console while the drive was mounted and consol output this error.
    [root@localhost guest]# draklive-install
    mount: /dev/sda5 already mounted or /tmp/tmp_fs_df busy
    mount: /dev/sda6 already mounted or /tmp/tmp_fs_df busy
    umount: /dev/sda7: not mounted
    umount: /dev/sda9: not mounted
    umount: /dev/sda10: not mounted
    umount: /dev/sda11: not mounted
    mke2fs 1.39 (29-May-2006)
    /dev/sda7 is apparently in use by the system; mke2fs forced anyway.
    /dev/sda7: Device or resource busy while setting up superblock
    ext2 formatting of sda7 failed at /usr/lib/libDrakX/fs/format.pm line 121.

    [1]+ Stopped su
    [root@localhost guest]#
    I am unaware of how to resolve this. from what the error looks like it seems I may hve to install it when its not mounted.

    I reparted my drive to:
    / 2.5g
    /boot 50m
    swap 512m
    /home 4g
    /usr 500m


  11. #10
    Linux User infoshirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    397

    Cool

    Hey,
    See the recomended partition space for /usr. It should be atleast 4GB -- Every application or packages are installed in /usr.
    Your /usr partitions is way to low for installation. Reinstall the system with appropraite partitions. Make sure your swap should be 1.5 to 2 times grater than your onboard RAM.
    Regards,

    who |grep -i blonde |
    date; cd~; unzip; touch;
    strip; finger; mount; gasp;
    yes; uptime; umount;
    sleep

    Newbie clicks
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •