Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey. I have a problem. I have one of thos old laptops, and have decided that i want to run linux on it. Only problem is that i cant get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Cant install or start live cd


    Hey.
    I have a problem.
    I have one of thos old laptops, and have decided that i want to run linux on it. Only problem is that i cant get any distro to start. No installs nor live cds work.
    I must have tried 10 distros (eg. ubuntu, mandriva, kubuntu, elive) and some others.
    System info of my laptop:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU 420, 1.6ghz
    ati radeon xpress graphics
    500mb ram.

    Any suggestions anyone?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Are you sure that you are downloading and burning the files to the blank CD properly?

    Here's a HowTo that gives the proper steps:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...nstall-cd.html

    What kind of errors are you getting, if any?
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13
    Make sure when you burn the cd, you burn it as an image. the contents of the distro comes in the iso format but sometimes when people make the cd, the y burn the actual one file with the iso extension to the cd. when the image is burned it sorta unzip the content from ther iso to the cd, the cd hsould contain more than one file. also check the bios setting to make sure that the cdrom is the first device for boot.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    The cds arent burnt wrong. They work on my other computer.
    And i dont get any messages. The screen just goes blank after i choose one of the options in the boot menu. The the "loading linux kernel" comes up. And after that the screen turns black. Its like that with every distro. And they all work on my other computer.

  6. #5
    Just Joined! sciontist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    13
    try selecting the option Installation--Safe Settings from the menu and type command line pci=nomsi then press enter

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanx dude.
    But i think i have fixed the problem now.
    There was an option in the mandriva installation. "text - ACPI Disabled" (i think it was named like that).
    And it is installing as i write.
    So, now lets just see if it works to after installation.

    Thanx for your advice.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    Ok. So I managed to install Mandriva. Next question.
    How do i get my wlan to work in Mandriva??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •