Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hey, I have been wanting to try out linux for awhile now, and I just got another hard drive to try it out on. I still have windows, but it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Dual Booting Two HDDs


    Hey, I have been wanting to try out linux for awhile now, and I just got another hard drive to try it out on. I still have windows, but it is on a seperate hard drive, and I want to be able to choose which drive to boot to when I start up my computer.

    My setup: Hard drive one: IDE with windows

    Hard Drive two: SATA with linux (fedora 7)

    Do I have to reinstall linux or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie athlon_crazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    132
    just get install with grub bootloader.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie jpalfree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Posts
    198
    You should be able to set your bios to boot the linux hard drive. Assuming this works, you can go into linux and edit your /boot/grub/grub.conf and add an option to boot windows. You should just be able to add something like this:

    title=Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    That configuration assumes that your computer recognizes the windows hard drive as the first hard drive. If it is the second hard drive, change (hd0,0) to (hd1,0).

    If your windows hard drive has more than one partition then you MIGHT need to change the (hd0,0) to something like (hd0,1) if the C: drive is the second partition, or (hd0,2) if it is the third and so on...

    Hope that helps.
    Avatar from xkcd.com, a hilarious computer related webcomic.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3
    Awesome, thanks for the quick replies, except that now I get Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format.
    It says booting up windows then shows:
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    And then the error is there. It is pretty weird.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Correct code is:
    Code:
    title Windows XP
          rootnoverify (hd1,0)
          map (hd0) (hd1)
          map (hd1) (hd0)
          chainloader +1
    In case it doesn't work, post the output of fdisk -l command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3
    It works. Thanks a lot. You guys rock.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you Spoof !
    Have fun with Linux and do post back if you have any query.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie jpalfree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Posts
    198
    devils_casper, what exactly did those 'map' commands do? I am unfamiliar with them and am thus puzzled as to how that worked (or what was wrong).
    Avatar from xkcd.com, a hilarious computer related webcomic.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Windows Boot Loader must be installed in the MBR/Boot Sector of Hard Disk plugged in as Primary Master only. When GRUB chainloads Windows Boot Loader installed Secondary Hard Disk, because of map code, It appears to Windows that HD is plugged in as Primary Master.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    hai

    Hi,
    Please add below lines in your /etc/grub.conf
    map (hdo) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    title Winows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1







    Quote Originally Posted by Spoof View Post
    Hey, I have been wanting to try out linux for awhile now, and I just got another hard drive to try it out on. I still have windows, but it is on a seperate hard drive, and I want to be able to choose which drive to boot to when I start up my computer.

    My setup: Hard drive one: IDE with windows

    Hard Drive two: SATA with linux (fedora 7)

    Do I have to reinstall linux or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •