Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I ran a couple of LiveCD's and it said that my BIOS age was 1999, and the cutoff was 2000. will this affect my installation? im trying to install ubuntu, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45

    Questions about BIOS for installation?


    I ran a couple of LiveCD's and it said that my BIOS age was 1999, and the cutoff was 2000. will this affect my installation? im trying to install ubuntu, and is 192 MB of RAM sufficient to run apps, and also a clean HDD with 40 GB of space?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Have you checked your motherboard maker's website for a BIOS upgrade?

    Yes, a 40GB hard drive should be plenty of space for Linux.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    I can upgrade my BIOS? I dunno. I bought the laptop form usedlaptops.com
    It has a bunch of stuff saying that its from there and to contact them for anything. btw how do i check my motherboards make? and also it ran windows 98 when i bought it soo...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If it's a lappy, don't worry about the motherboard maker but look at the laptop manufacturer's website for a BIOS update. The place from where you purchased it might also have news about a BIOS upgrade.
    oz

  6. #5
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    I've looked at the site, and I've contacted the people, but I can't seem to find a BIOS update/upgrade on their site. I've also looked at the manufacturers site, and I found something. Here are my specs:

    IBM Thinkpad running Windows 98
    Edition 600E
    Model 2645

    Do they fit into this site for upgrading my BIOS?

    Lenovo Support & downloads - BIOS Update (Diskette) - ThinkPad 600E (2645: 55x, 56x, 57x, 58x, A5x, A6x, Bxx [except for BAU], JJ1, JJ2, RRA)

    Also, how do I do it so that I can do it without connecting to the internet? Meaning can I burn it to and RW CD/DVD? Anything else, please tell me, I've never updated a BIOS before, and I don't want it to kill my system. Thanks!

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    That appears to be the correct BIOS for your machine. Compare the latest version with your version to make sure you don't already have the latest version. Also, be sure you follow the instructions for updating your BIOS exactly as given. Otherwise, you could damage your computer.
    oz

  8. #7
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    How do I see if I have the latest version?

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    The BIOS version is usually reported onscreen when the machine first begins to boot.
    oz

  10. #9
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    Okay I'll check.

  11. #10
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    1.15 is the current version for the BIOS. It seems as though I can't update that. So do you think it will still run fine with Ubuntu?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •