Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I had a notebook with an Ubuntu 6.0 installed working fine, an then I had to install Windows XP on it and since then I could't load linux anymore. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Lost my grub


    I had a notebook with an Ubuntu 6.0 installed working fine, an then I had to install Windows XP on it and since then I could't load linux anymore.

    I had tried to install Super Grub in a USB Pen drive and boot from it, but I get a message that says "invalid system disk, Replace the disk, and then press any Key"
    ( Super Grub Disk Webpage: Documentation )

    I don't have an ubuntu live cd, only a ubuntu studio 7.0 and I don't Know if I can use the 'repair system' without loosing all my configurations of the previous version. I do not have acess to any computer with linux either.

    Does anybody Know How can I repair it?
    There is any way to do it from Windows?

    tanks a lot
    =)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi an Welcome !
    Boot up from Ubuntu Studio CD, open Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post out here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    i don't know how to open a terminal from my ubuntu cd...

    the options that I have in the first menu are:

    install ubuntu studio
    text mode install for manufacturers
    check cd for defects
    rescue a broken system
    memoru test
    boot from first hard disk

    I don't have an option to load ubuntu from the cd ....

    I had tried to load a shell from the rescue option, but it does not have an fdisk operation



    =[

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Select rescue a broken system option. It will drop you at shell prompt. Execute fdisk -l command there.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    that's exacly what I've tried, but in this shell I get a message "fdisk:not found"

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hmmm.... Boot up Windows and type diskmgmt.msc in RUN Dialog box or execute it at Command Prompt. Disk Management Tool window will pop up. Post Partition Structure here. Attach Sceentshot of Partition Structure, if possible.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    I tried rescue a broken system -> load components -> many things I don't remember -> and then execute a shell -> fdisk -l

    and I get

    device - boot - start - end - blocks - ID - system
    /dev/sda1 - - 1 - 7186 - 57721555+ - 83 - linux
    /dev/sda2 - * - 7187 - 10412 - 25912945 - 7 - HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 - - 10413 - 13779 - 27045227 - 83 - linux
    /dev/sda4 - - 13780 - 14593 - 6538455 - 5 - extended
    /dev/sda5 - - 13780 - 13926 - 1180714+ - 82 - linux swap / solaris
    /dev/sda6 - - 13927 - 14219 - 2353459+ - 82 - linux swap / solaris

    (it seems that everyting is there)

    =)

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie jweekley1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    145
    a couple of things that might help you out add fdisk has to be run as root that's what sudo is for. When setting up a dual boot install windows first then partition your drive for your linux os. If you are having trouble opening a terminal try using a systemrescuecd which an be downloaded at distrowatch.com

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie jweekley1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    145
    looks like you drive is set-up correctly

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/sda --recheck
    Post error message here, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •