Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello everyone, first time poster here! Just before I start, a few things about me : I'm a windows programmer with a big tendency towards open-source programs. Linux-wise, I've never ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How should I partition my hard drive for triple boot?

Hello everyone, first time poster here!

Just before I start, a few things about me : I'm a windows programmer with a big tendency towards open-source programs. Linux-wise, I've never really got further than the ubuntu liveCD. However, windows vista scares me and I want to try linux programming and softwares.

I've just received my new laptop. I want to triple boot Vista/xp/ubuntu (vista for future-proofing, xp for main system, ubuntu for fun). I will be using this tutorial, unless anyone has a better one : http://www.hevnikov.com/blog/2006/11...e-boot-screen/ . I have 120 gigs available (I know it's not a ton). I want to know how I should partition my hard drive to suit my needs (which sizes & formats). I figured out that I'd need the following minimum partitions sizes for the bare OSes :

Windows XP (NTFS) - 5 gig
    Windows vista (NTFS I think) - 8 gig
    Ubuntu (ext3) - 5 gig
    Linux swap - 2 gig

I want to have some place to store my data and some place to install my programs. My data should be accessible from all 3 OSes and, ideally, in NTFS format (linux has a patch to support it, right?). It could be in another format but I think the only other option is FAT32 and it's not great with filenames (I think). Now for programs : linux programs could be in the linux partition but the windows programs should be accessible from both XP and vista, if possible. I was thinking of something along the lines of :

Windows XP + windows programs (NTFS) - 40 gig
    Ubuntu + linux programs (ext3) - 20 gig
    Linux swap - 2 gig
    Data (NTFS) - 50 gig