Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Okay, before anyone redirect me to many good threads about how to setup window/linux dual boot, I would like to say that I GOT THEM WORKING. My question is, since ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11

    reformat window in window/linux dual boot


    Okay, before anyone redirect me to many good threads about how to setup window/linux dual boot, I would like to say that I GOT THEM WORKING.

    My question is, since now I have two partitions, one for windows and the other linux, if I were to reformat window now, does the process also erase my linux partition as well? Any special precautions I should take? In addition, how does this affect GRUB or any other unforeseen problems? Although I'm no computer noob, I'm no linux expert either, so I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place.

    In short, would my linux installation survive the window reinstall? I'm not certain since all the window/linux dual boot instructions out there says install window first then linux, I'm affraid of wiping out my linux installation when reinstalling windows.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    If you re-install Windows in existing Windows OS partition only then nothing will go wrong with Linux. You have to re-install GRUB only.
    Which Distro do you have?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux User abhishek456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    470
    make sure that you are not going to touch the partition on which linux is installed during windows install

    other than that you don't need to worry for anything in major

    post the distro you are using as suggested by devils_casper
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Hi and Welcome !

    If you re-install Windows in existing Windows OS partition only then nothing will go wrong with Linux. You have to re-install GRUB only.
    Which Distro do you have?
    I'm using ubuntu feisty fawn. How do I reinstall GRUB?

  6. #5
    Linux User abhishek456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    470
    Boot up using live Ubuntu cd

    When you get to the desktop open a terminal and enter

    Code:
    sudo grub
    This will get you a "grub>" prompt (i.e. the grub shell). At grub>. enter these commands


    Code:
    find /boot/grub/stage1
    This will return a location. If you have more than one, select the installation that you want to provide the grub files.
    use the value which was returned from above find /boot/grub/stage1 for the next commands


    Code:
    root (hd?,?)
    use the value from the find command i.e. if find returned (hd0,1) then you would enter root (hd0,1)

    Next enter the command to install grub to the mbr


    Code:
    setup (hd0)
    Finally exit the grub shell


    Code:
    quit
    That's it. Grub will be installed to the mbr

    if you have any trouble in installing grub report back here

    hope everything goes right for you
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by solarbike
    I'm using ubuntu feisty fawn. How do I reinstall GRUB?
    Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       10220    82086448+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda2           10220       10855     5103000   12  Compaq diagnostics
    Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda3           10856       12099     9992430   83  Linux
    /dev/sda4           12100       12161      498015    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           12100       12161      497983+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Compaq diagnostics is my thinkpad recovery partition.

  9. #8
    Linux User abhishek456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    470
    you can reinstall GRUB to mbr by fallowing instruction i posted away.

    had you experienced any trouble with those instructions
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up from Ubuntu CD after Windows OS installation. Open Terminal and execie this
    Code:
    sudo grub
    root(hd0,2)
    setup(hd0)
    exit
    exit
    Reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Syria
    Posts
    9
    I'm having the same problem and Wanted to ask,can I use other Live CD versions ? for Example I have the KNOPPIX 5.1.1 Live CD,can I use these commands with it to reinstall GRUB ?

    I know it might be a stupid question,but I had to ask...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •