Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi everyone, I'm trying to set up a dual boot with ubuntu7.04 and xp. Each have their own hard drives, ubuntu is set to master, xp is set to slave. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Dual boot, 2HD, Ubuntu + XP


    Hi everyone,

    I'm trying to set up a dual boot with ubuntu7.04 and xp. Each have their own hard drives, ubuntu is set to master, xp is set to slave. My xp hd has a utility partition too. In device.map I have;

    (hd0) /dev/sda
    (hd1) /dev/sdb

    and within menu.lst I have;

    title windows xp
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    rootnoverify (hd1,1)
    makeactive
    savedefault
    chainloader +1

    When I try to boot xp I get "Selected disk does not exist". Looking at device.map its sda,sdb instead of hda,hdb. That means SCSI right? because my harddrives are IDE.

    Anyone have any ideas why this isnt working for me? Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post the output here.

    Quote Originally Posted by scotter
    Looking at device.map its sda,sdb instead of hda,hdb. That means SCSI right? because my harddrives are IDE.
    Latest kernels assign SCSI names to all types of Disks. There wont be any hdx names now.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Hi casper, heres fdisk. Oh ok, so my harddrives are right then?

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1        4678    37576003+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda2            4679        4865     1502077+   5  Extended
    /dev/sda5            4679        4865     1502046   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1           5       40131   de  Dell Utility
    /dev/sdb2   *           6        4862    39013852+   7  HPFS/NTFS

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Code is correct. Unplug Linux HD and plug-in Windows HD as Primary Master. Does Windows OS boot up?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Ok, if I unplug the linux Hdd and put the XP Hdd in as primary master the computer does not boot. It says it cant recognize the disk or invalid disk, something like that. However if i set the XP Hdd to cable select on the master end of the ribbon, everything boots fine.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    It means problem is on Cable select only. Try different combinations. Above code is for Linux disk -- Primary Master and Windows disk -- Secondary/Slave.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Ok, i have to admit im really confused by what you said right there. What do you mean by different combinations above where?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You have to try different Cable Combinations or Jumper Settings.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    Oh, yeah i understand that part. Can i just set both Hdd's set to cable select? Or is the reason xp wont boot because of the jumper settings?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    GRUB is installed in the MBR of Ubuntu Disk and its configure to boot Windows OS installed in the Secondary Hard Disk. If you havn't plugged in both disks as Master/Salve correctly, GRUB will not boot up Windows OS. As I mentioned earlier, you can set master/slave combination through cable select or jumper settings.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •