Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am installing Fedora Core 6. Everything goes fine, until the machine tries to boot up and go into the grapphical mode, then I get this message on my screen ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    HRT
    HRT is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    12

    Exclamation "Cannot Display This Video Mode"


    I am installing Fedora Core 6. Everything goes fine, until the machine tries to boot up and go into the grapphical mode, then I get this message on my screen that says:

    "Cannot Display This Video Mode"

    I have tried reloading this machine about 5 times and it does it every time. It is a brand new HP Compaq dc 7700 Convertible minitower with an ATI Radeon video card (AGP) in it. It also has a built in video card integrated into the motherboard. I've tried using both of them, but don't have any luck with either one...

    Any ideas what I can do just to get ANY resolution of display to work?


    HRT

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    You have to install ATI driver. Use "vesa" driver for time being.
    Highlight Fedora title in GRUB Menu and press 'a'. Type single and Hit Enter key. Fedora will boot up in Single User Mode and drop you at login prompt. Log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Select "vesa" in Drivers List and reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    HRT
    HRT is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    12
    That worked great! Only thing is now that after rebooting the box just goes into text mode after logging in, not GUI mode. What do I need to edit to make it always go into the Gnome GUI?

    HRT

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Log in as root and open /etc/inittab file.
    Look for this line:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    Its first un-commented line in the file. 5 represents GUI mode and 3 represents Command Line mode.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    HRT
    HRT is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    12
    Awesome! That did it, thanks!!!

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you. Do post back if you have any other query/problem.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •