Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
k so my problem is that i have windows xp installed and fedora core 2 installed with grub from the fc2 installation on my MBR, i am installing mandrake 10 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45

    Grub hard drive thing


    k so my problem is that i have windows xp installed and fedora core 2 installed with grub from the fc2 installation on my MBR, i am installing mandrake 10 on another drive and i want to know how i can find out wut code to put in.... just the "(hdx, y)" stuff ... because i know were it is in windows but i dont know wut its called in linux.... any help would b nice

  2. #2
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    • hda = master on primary ide cable
      hdb = slave on primare ide cable
      hdc = master on secoundary ide
      hdd = slave on secoundary ide

      Hard drive's as seen by GRUB
      hda partition 1 = (hd0,0) partition 2 (hd0,1) ect....
      hdb partition 1 = (hd1,0) partition 2 (hd1,1) ect....
      hdc
      hdd
      hde
      hdf
      hdg

    now if the drive that mdk is on is on the same ide cable as the win and fc2 is on then it will be hdb and (hd1,0) if it is not then see chart above
    (however if you have sata drives it will be differant and if you have raid it will also be diffrent)
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    ya i have 2 hard drives and 2 dvd drives.... the first ide cable goes into
    my dvd player as slave, then my harddrive with xp and fc2 as master. the second ide goes into my second harddrive as slave (this hd has mdk on it) then into my dvdrw as master. so which thing would i use?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    so its on the second partition on the second drive and when i boot up it says there is no such drive as "hd1, 2"

    itle Mandrake 10.0
    root (hd1,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-4mdk ro root=/dev/hdd6
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.3-4mdk.img

    any ideas?

    ps. i got the kernel and initrd info from a guide buy nerderello were he pasted his mandrake 10.0 grub.conf file

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    there is a tutorial section in this site. Check it out. Have a look at the solving boot problems with Grub post.

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  7. #6
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    try this:

    tiitle Mandrake 10.0
    root (hd2,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-4mdk ro root=/dev/hdc2
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.3-4mdk.imgtle Mandrake 10.0

    and you are putting this in the grub.conf in the fc2 install correct!
    ########################################
    The way you had it you would boot the first dvd drive and you set the root on the 2nd dvd drive at the 6th part
    itle Mandrake 10.0
    root (hd1,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-4mdk ro root=/dev/hdd6
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.3-4mdk.img
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    didnt work... it stops at the (hd2,1) thing and says there is no such partition.... funny thing tho ... i looked at my fedora core boot up, and even tho its only on the second partition of the drive it says (hd0,5) and it boots up fine.....

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    is there any program i can run in linux to detect all drives and parttitions so i dont have to play this guessing game with grub lol

  10. #9
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Cryptix
    is there any program i can run in linux to detect all drives and parttitions so i dont have to play this guessing game with grub lol
    no but read the grub manual and look at the find function at the grub prompt
    you get a grub prompt at boot time by reading the screen then yoy type
    find /boot/exact name of your kernel and it will tell u where it is

    and yes grub is weird sometimes......
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    would the mandrake version of grub be the same as the one with fc2? because i could just load the mandrake thing on MBR then go in and add the fc2 stuff into it because i already know it

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •