Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello there, peoples! I have a pc with AMD Athlon 64bit dual core, 4GB memory, 2x250GB discs and Vista home premium 64bit. The 2nd hard drive has been deliberately left ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pitstone, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    2

    Vista & Kubuntu 7.04 dual boot problem


    Hello there, peoples!

    I have a pc with AMD Athlon 64bit dual core, 4GB memory, 2x250GB discs and Vista home premium 64bit. The 2nd hard drive has been deliberately left unused for Linux.
    In order to ensure that my Windows was not destroyed by the Linux install, I disconnected the disc drive with windows on it & booted from the ISO dvd. Then I installed Kubuntu to the 'only' disc drive and it works OK, I think!
    The problem is the Linux drive is not now visible within windows but is visible in the windows hardware descriptions! No boot option appears for Linux. The only way to start it is disconnect the windows drive!
    How do I get a dual boot, please?

    Regards, Noddy

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Plug-in both Hard Disks in such a way that Kubuntu boots up by default.
    Press Alt+F2 and type this
    Code:
    kdesu kate /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Above command will open menu.lst file in kate editor. Put # sign before hiddenmenu line and add this code at the end of file.
    Code:
    title Windows Vista
            rootnoverify (hd1,0)
            map (hd1) (hd0)
            map (hd0) (hd1)
            chainloader +1
    Save file and reboot machine. GRUB Menu will appear at startup. Select Windows Vista and check if it boots up.

    EDIT:
    In case it doesn't work, boot up Kubuntu, open Konsole and execute this
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    Last edited by devils casper; 10-08-2007 at 05:26 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pitstone, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks, Casper

    It still does not work properly.
    I edited menu.lst as directed, but now get
    'Error 23: Error while parsing number'
    when I select the Vista option.
    Apologies for delay in replying - it is taking me a while to remember how to use Unix! Its been a good few years since I used it.
    I am having a few strange problems now, the windows system time keeps going 1 hour out and shutdown no longer switches off (or is taking a very long time!), I have to use F11 at startup to be able to boot from the second disk to start Linux. I cannot connect to outside world with Linux.

    fdisk output is attached.

    Regards, Noddy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I can see attached output of fdisk.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •