Find the answer to your Linux question:
Linux newbie here. Hoping to become proficient enough in Linux to get away from Windows altogether eventually. I'm trying to install suse 10.3 onto a Dell with Win XP Pro ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Talking can't boot suse 10.3 from DVD

Linux newbie here. Hoping to become proficient enough in Linux to get away from Windows altogether eventually.

I'm trying to install suse 10.3 onto a Dell with Win XP Pro SP2. I have Windows on C: (~47GB) and have ~28GB of free space available on my 80 gig HDD. I downloaded "openSUSE-10.3-GM-DVD-i386.iso" and burned it to a DVD. When I tried to boot from the DVD, it doesn't boot. The boot options in the BIOS are CD-ROM, floppy, and HD. I removed the HD from the boot sequence in BIOS and upon rebooting, it doesn't recognize the DVD. Is there a way to add the DVD drive to the boot sequence? Or should it recognize it under the CD-ROM option? Can I get the installation started using a CD or floppy. If so, can you tell me what I need to put on the CD/floppy?

Also, do I need to format the partition in a certain way in order to install suse? Thanks for your help!!

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Just guessing here, but are you sure you burned the ISO image to the disk properly?

Take a look at the disk with a file manager. There should be multiple files on the disk. If only the ISO file is there, you've simply copied the ISO file to the blank disk, which won't work. The ISO file must be burned to the disk as an image. Also, don't make the disk bootable yourself because the ISO image burning process takes care of that step automatically.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Yes, there's multiple files on the DVD. As far as making the disk bootable, should I have just burned it as a data DVD and not a bootable disk? If so, do I need to reburn it or can I modify the one I have.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy