Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi all, Sorry I first of all sent this to the wrong forum. I just got to this furum and to tell the truth I do not know exactly what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Fedora core 6 installation disappears from Grub boot list after kernel change.


    Hi all,
    Sorry I first of all sent this to the wrong forum. I just got to this furum and to tell the truth I do not know exactly what I am doing. I do have a problem though. I have an intel dual core machine from Dell. I ave dual booted this with win xp and fedora core 6. Yesterday I wanted to install my ATI Redeon grafics and for that purpose I needed to change from the i586 kernel to the correct i686 kernel. I follwed the 7 steps discribed on this furum to remove the old kernel and install the new one. When I reboot the machine the windows inastallation did not appear on the grub boot list. Can any one please help me fix this.
    Tunderous.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !

    Post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    I forgot to mention that I can not boot fedora because it doesn’t appear on the grub boot list. However, using the fedora rescue disk I could get the following outputs:

    **From /boot/grub/grub.conf**
    # grub.cong generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file.
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, e.g.
    # root (hd0,5)
    # kernel /Vmlinuz-2.6.22.9-61.fc6 ro root =/dev/VolGroup00/logVol00
    # initrd /initrd-2.6.22.9-61.fc6.img
    #boot =/dev/sda
    Timeout =5
    Splashimage =(hd0,5)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    Hiddenmenu
    Title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0.1)
    chainloader +1

    **From /boot/grub/device.map**
    (hd0) /dev/sda

    **From fdisk –l**
    Disk /dev/sda : 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Device Boot Start End blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 7 56196 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 8 7656 61440592+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 7657 38502 247770495 f W95 Ext’d (LBA)
    /dev/sda4 38503 38913 3301357+ db CP/M / CTOS / …
    /dev/sda5 7657 12755 40957686 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 12756 12780 200781 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 12781 13800 8193118+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda8 13801 32922 153597433+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 32923 38502 44821318+ 8e Linux LVM

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    # grub.cong generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file.
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, e.g.
    # root (hd0,5)
    # kernel /Vmlinuz-2.6.22.9-61.fc6 ro root =/dev/VolGroup00/logVol00
    # initrd /initrd-2.6.22.9-61.fc6.img
    #boot =/dev/sda
    Timeout =5
    Splashimage =(hd0,5)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    Hiddenmenu
    Title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0.1)
    chainloader +1
    Contents of grub.conf file are not complete.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Hi devils_casper
    That is actually how my grub.conf file looked. It was incomplete for some reason. I booted fedora with the rescue disk and edit ted the file to complete it and also specified the boot partition (hd0,6). i then ended up with "error 17" when I tried to reboot into fedora. I then editd the specification of the boot partition at grub start up trying from partion hd0,0; hd0,1; hd0,2 ... until I got to hd0.5 and it worded. So now I have solved the grub problem and installed the ATI grafics. I pray I don't run into other problems whrn I try to install the rest of the program packages that I need.
    Thanks a lot for you help. Just by asking for those files you pointed me in the right direction. It took a long time to figure out what was wrong but it was rewarding.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •