Find the answer to your Linux question:
let me start by saying I'm a total noob, to get that out of the way. without any further ado, let me begin. I tend to go on, so I'll ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

dual boot problems -- need partition help?

let me start by saying I'm a total noob, to get that out of the way. without any further ado, let me begin. I tend to go on, so I'll try and have a summary at the end if you wanna skip the story part.

//BEGIN STORY SEGMENT

I was (am?) interested in linux. my friend recommended SuSE, and the website advertised that their installation would put in the partitions that linux needed without erasing data. as shady as this proposition sounded, I went ahead. now, my windows will not boot.

I had two partitions _before_ installing it: one with the windows functionality and all my installed programs, the other full of music, images, movie files, etc. I split up the latter partition to install linux. not being of a very patient bent, I shuddered in the face of the daunting task of backing up so many gigs of data. since I had much of it on cd anyway (I had reformatted a couple months earlier), I entrusted the fate of my files to the makers of SuSE.

a mistake? time will tell.

I'm still getting used to working in linux, and after overcoming all kinds of problems (including my keyboard somehow being recognized as a german variant and spewing all manner of nonsense when I tried to type) I kinda know my way around it. my next priority before perfecting things, though, is getting my files and my windows back.

by the way, I know charging into this was a foolish move. spare me your admonitions. I was eager to get started.

//END STORY SEGMENT

to recap: I had two partitions, one with windows, one with files. I installed suse linux, splitting up the file partition, and now my windows won't boot.