Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello, I installed Mandriva a month ago and everything was going fine with it. Today I installed windows Vista in a seperate 20 GB partition (Need to work with Visual ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! brokenwings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    26

    Red face Dual Boot problem - Grub doesn't see Vista in Mandriva!


    Hello,

    I installed Mandriva a month ago and everything was going fine with it. Today I installed windows Vista in a seperate 20 GB partition (Need to work with Visual Studio). Perhaps Vista boot loader destroyed GRUB and everytime logged me into the windows (skipping Grub).
    Reading through the forums I found a file (Grub installer CD image), burnt it to CD and installed Grub again on MBR. Since then I am able to login to Mandriva, but I don't see any option in Grub for windows Vista.
    Don't know if its of any use but I have Mandriva Linux 2008, Windows Vista Home Premium on a Lifebook C1410.

    Just thought output of "fdisk -l" might be helpful for someone to understand better, and answer specifically. So here is the output


    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x7f1a98fc

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 1019 8185086 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 1020 6668 45375592+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda3 * 6669 9730 24588288 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5 1020 1528 4088511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6 1529 6668 41287018+ 83 Linux


    I will greatly apreciate any help or suggestions from you folks.

    Cheers,
    Malik

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Open /boot/grub/menu.lst file with root privileges and add this code at the end of file
    Code:
    title Windows Vista
           rootnoverify (hd0,2)
           chainloader +1
    Save file and reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux User infoshirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    397
    Quote Originally Posted by brokenwings View Post
    Hello,

    I installed Mandriva a month ago and everything was going fine with it. Today I installed windows Vista in a seperate 20 GB partition (Need to work with Visual Studio). Perhaps Vista boot loader destroyed GRUB and everytime logged me into the windows (skipping Grub).
    Reading through the forums I found a file (Grub installer CD image), burnt it to CD and installed Grub again on MBR. Since then I am able to login to Mandriva, but I don't see any option in Grub for windows Vista.
    Don't know if its of any use but I have Mandriva Linux 2008, Windows Vista Home Premium on a Lifebook C1410.

    Just thought output of "fdisk -l" might be helpful for someone to understand better, and answer specifically. So here is the output


    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x7f1a98fc

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 1019 8185086 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 1020 6668 45375592+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda3 * 6669 9730 24588288 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5 1020 1528 4088511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6 1529 6668 41287018+ 83 Linux


    I will greatly apreciate any help or suggestions from you folks.

    Cheers,
    Malik
    Does your grub.conf shows windows Vista entries? Do post the grub.conf file.
    Regards,

    who |grep -i blonde |
    date; cd~; unzip; touch;
    strip; finger; mount; gasp;
    yes; uptime; umount;
    sleep

    Newbie clicks
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

  4. #4
    Just Joined! brokenwings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    26
    Thank you so very much Casper! I added Vista entries to grub/menu.lst and now everything works fine

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you.
    Do start a new thread if you have any other question.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •