Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. I am new to this linux but have just managed to create a Live CD of Puppy Linux on my computer and it worked fine. The computer has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Can I dualboot with 2 harddrives

Hi everyone.
    I am new to this linux but have just managed to create a Live CD of Puppy Linux on my computer and it worked fine.

The computer has the following drives.

A: Floppy drive
    C: Harddrive with Win 98 Se on it (is master)
    D: Harddrive which I want to install Puppy on (is slave)
    E: a DVD Rom (secondary slave)
    F: a CDRW (secondary master)

None of the drives have been partitioned. Both harddrives are small about
    2GB each.

Can I make it a dual boot and get the best of both operating systems ?

Yes and its very easy. If you install Linux in Slave Disk, Boot Loader doesn't work properly in a few machines. I would suggest you to plug-in Slave disk as Primary and Windows Disk as slave. Install Linux in primary. You will have to add an entry of Windows 98 in GRUB menu.
    First of all, install Linux in Primary. Boot it up, open Terminal/Konsole and execute this
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Post output here. I will post the code for dual boot setup.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Banned
    Hello dear Andrew,

personally, I think that a dual boot system with each operation system on a separate Hard drive disk a practical thing.

I see a few problems with your setup/system:

For experimenting, it will be fine.

But you won't stay happy with it, in the mid and the long term.

Why?: Because you only have a total storage on your disks of 4GB.