Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i have read all the directions for installing the new slackware on my pc... i have never used linux before and i have always wanted to try it... i got ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

slackware --> keyboard

i have read all the directions for installing the new slackware on my pc... i have never used linux before and i have always wanted to try it...

i got down to where it says this... in this install directions site... http://www.linuxpackages.net/howto.p...e=Installation

Welcome to Linux 2.4.26.

login:

if i try to type something my keyboard turns off and i cant type...

any help would be greatly appreciated... thx

Just Joined!
    my keyboard doesnt work when i reach that spot... it worked throughout the whole installation processes without any problems... i dont know what the problem is and have no idea what to do...

Linux User
    So you finished the install, and it boots up, but you cant login?

Is it graphical or text login?

if i try to type something my keyboard turns off and i cant type...
    Turns off? Do you mean if you type, you don't see text? Or the leds turn off, what?

Try ctrl+alt+backspace a few times, if thats a graphical login it should quit X.
    --monkey

Just Joined!
    it is text login... i have the num lock led light on and i try typing and nothing happens... i hit the num lock to turn it off and i hit it again and it doesnt come back on...

when i typed in the password in the setup i didnt see anything when i typed in the password... i typed stuff into it and nothing showed not even the ***... i dont know if its supposed to have them but it did say that i entered a password...

Just Joined!
    i tried even rebooting with crtl-alt-del... dont know if it should work but it didnt

Just Joined!
    figured it out... changed the keyboard map at the beginning and it worked...

Just Joined!