Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have just installed Ubuntu - I am new to Linux. I have been using windows for many years and want to see what inux is about. I cannot connect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Connecting to internet

I have just installed Ubuntu - I am new to Linux. I have been using windows for many years and want to see what inux is about.

I cannot connect to the internet - I have a linksys wireles card in my computer. How do I get Ubuntu to see it and use it to connect.

DNT

Open the terminal and type
    sudo lspci
    sudo iwconfig
    you have to enter your password. Post the output here
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Banned
    Hello, and heartily greetings to you in England.

I would not install Linux yet, because you would like to try it out first.

I would only use it from a LifeCD.

How are you using it??

Do you still have Windows (as well)? Do you have "dual boot"?

Are you usually connected via your wifi card, or is your card just there as well?

Do you have ADSL, DSL, a connection via modem, or IDSN, or whatever, or is your connection only always wireles?

Is "linksys" your ISP (internet service providerr) ? And is the wifi card sort of configuratet with your provider?

... You see: Lots of questions.

Quote:
    "How do I get Ubuntu to see it and use it to connect.?" (You forgot your question mark: Please be very precice.

Answers:

1.) You had a connection before, with Windows. It worked then.

1.) It is a matter of your settings and configurations.

3.) First of all, you have to be able to start up with your new OS (operation system), meaning, you have to be able to boot.

4.) So you most likely seem to have a booting problem, as your major problem.

5.) To sort this problem out, you must go into your BIOS of your computer.