Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am new to Linux and am experiencing a problem. My computer is a Dell laptop running Win XP and recently I decided to create a dual boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    jmb
    Just Joined!

Question Unable to boot Linux partition

Hello all,

I am new to Linux and am experiencing a problem. My computer is a Dell laptop running Win XP and recently I decided to create a dual boot OS.

I researched how to do this as I don't have much previous knowledge.

After having created an extended partition of 16 GB and a linux swap (1 GB) in Gparted, I installed Xubuntu from the live-CD.

When I try to boot from this partition, however, the message I get is that there is no bootable device found. The "Windows partition" which had to be decreased in size is still bootable, and is strangely running better than what it did before.

When I look at my harddrive, it has the fat16, ext3 + linux swap, ntfs and fat32. Is this how it should look?

I can give anyone more information if needed, but this is all I can think of. Thank you in advance.

Jimmy

Just Joined!
    Hey Buddy Hi
    Ok now yo first yet not a serious one is u didn't give linux to run the mbr, u instead installed it on the partitions mean u that u need to look at the mbr next time u install.
    The other issue is, make sure that u have three linux partitions, Ext3 = / (root = 7Gb), Swap = 1Gb and lastly the remaining to Ext2/3 = /home (My documents = 8Gb or more if u can) that is the best setup.
    So for now u clean up every thing and do it again following that arrangement. remember Swap depend of on the about of ram u have, if u have 256mb -> 512mb (swap), if u have 512mb -> 1Gb (swap).
    Ok buddy

All the best
    Cheers
    Robin